The tombs of Atuan

Front Cover
Atheneum, 1971 - Fiction - 163 pages
THE TOMBS OF ATUAN Book Two of Ursula K. Le Guin's Earthsea Cycle Now a SCI FI Original Miniseries! When young Tenar is chosen as high priestess to the ancient and nameless Powers of the Earth, everything is taken away from her-home, family, possessions, even her name. She is now known only as Arha, the Eaten One, guardian of the labyrinthine Tombs of Atuan, shrouded in darkness. When a young wizard, Ged Sparrowhawk, comes to steal the Tombs' greatest hidden treasure, the Ring of Erreth-Akbe, Tenar's rightful duty is to protect the Tombs. But Ged also brings with him the light of magic and tales of a brighter world Tenar has never known. Will Tenar risk everything to escape the darkness that has become her domain? With millions of copies sold worldwide, Ursula K. Le Guin's Earthsea Cycle has earned a treasured place on the shelves of fantasy lovers everywhere, alongside the works of such beloved authors as J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Karlstar -

The 2nd part in the Earthsea Cycle, this book does not pick up where the previous left off. Instead, we meet a new character, Tenar, the reborn priestess of the Nameless Ones. Trained from a young age ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - schteve - LibraryThing

The second Earthsea book eschews the travelogue approach of book one and sets much of the action in a labyrinth. Sparrowhawk/Ged is more the secondary character here with Arha/Tenar being the main focus. Darker than the first book and perhaps the most satisfying of the first three. Read full review


The Prisoners
Dreams and Tales

6 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1971)

Ursula K. Le Guin was born in Berkeley, California, in 1929. Among her honors are a National Book Award, five Hugo and five Nebula Awards, the Kafka Award, a Pushcart Prize, and the Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Bibliographic information