« PreviousContinue »
RICHARD SHEPHERD, M.B., was born at Kendal, in which town, it is presumed, he received his education. He settled as a practising physician in Preston, residing in Friargate, and it would appear that he soon became an influential inhabitant of the town. He was admitted a freeman of the Borough of Preston, in November, 1724, and he renewed his freedom at the Guild, in 1742.
He served the office of Mayor's bailiff during the Mayoralty of Lawrence Rawstorne, Esq., in 1740-1. He was elected an Alderman April 17th, 1746, and served the office of Mayor in the year 1747-8, and again in the year 1755-6.
He married Margaret, only daughter and heiress of William Appleton, Esq. Her mother was the daughter of Christopher Nowell, Esq., of Little Merlay, near Clitheroe, a younger branch of the ancient family of Nowell of Read. Through his wife Dr. Shepherd was the possessor of Little Merlay Hall. By this lady who pre-deceased him, the doctor had no issue. Dr. Shepherd died on the 28th of November, 1761, and was interred on the 7th of December, in the grave yard of St. George's Church, in this town. A portrait of Dr. Shepherd hangs in the reading room of Dr. Shepherd's Library.
In his life time he was professionally, and in other ways, charitable to his poorer townspeople. He collected an extensive and valuable Library, which, by his will, dated the 18th of June,
1759, he bequeathed to the Corporation of Preston in trust for the benefit of the inhabitants. To this bequest he added the sum of two hundred pounds, the interest of which was to pay the salary of a Librarian, and he further left the residue of his personal estate (about £1,000,) the interest of which he desired to be expended in books to be added to the library. The expense of maintaining the Library, beyond the proceeds of these benefactions, has been defrayed by the Corporation out of the public revenue.
The Library is open daily for reading and reference, one of the conditions of Dr. Shepherd's will being "that no book or books be lent or removed out of the Library." The advantages of the Library are open to all persons, the only condition of membership being a recommendation by the Mayor or an Alderman of the Borough.
BOROUGH OF PRESTON.
TO BE OBSERVED BY PERSONS HAVING PERMISSION TO VISIT
DR. SHEPHERD'S LIBRARY.
RULE 1.—That this Library be open every day in the week except Sunday, from ten o'clock in the morning to three-quarters past nine in the evening.
RULE 2.-That all applications for admission to the Library, for the purpose of reading during the hours above stated, be made to the Mayor, or to one of the Aldermen of this Borough, who have power to give a certificate of admission; and that no person be allowed the use of the Library without such permission.
RULE 3. That every person, on his first visiting the Library, give the Certificate which he has obtained, to the Librarian, to be entered in a book which is kept for that purpose.
RULE 4.-That no books be at any time allowed to be taken out of the Library. RULE 5.-That every person visiting the Library do strictly abstain from making notes or observations, either with pen or otherwise in any of the books; and that he be careful to return them to the Librarian.
RULE 6. That no Book be read by visitors in any part of the Library, but at some of the tables or desks in the Reading Room.
RULE 7.-That all persons visiting the Library be careful to leave their umbrellas in the stand.
RULE 8.-That any person refusing to conform to these Rules, will be deprived of the privilege of visiting the Library.
By order of the
Sept. 23, 1870.
MAYOR AND ALDERMEN
OF THE BOROUGH OF PRESTON.