Page images
PDF
EPUB

VII. (Page 216.)

A description of the Lines or Boundaries of the several parishes in the island of Barbados, as they are by law established. By Wm. Mayo, 1721.

ST. PHILIP.

On St. John.-From the sea between Palmer's two mills, through the centre of Palmer's boiling-house to Roberts's mill (now Byde mill), a straight line. On St. George.-From Roberts's mill to one foot south-east of the south-east corner of Baker's boiling-house (now Edgecumbe), a straight line; and from thence, on Christ Church, ranging with the west corner of Baker's still-house, by the north-east side of Boucher's mill (now Hopefield), and to the sea, a straight line.

CHRIST CHURCH.

On St. George and St. Michael.—From the corner last described (i. e. the south-east corner of Baker's boiling-house), through Lyte's porch (now Boarded Hall-the porch and house destroyed by the hurricane), by the south-east side of Bond's mill (now Clapham), and to the sea, a straight line.

ST. JOHN.

On St. George.-From Roberts's mill to the west side of a gully in Smith's land (now Claybury), a straight line intersecting the boundary of St. Joseph's. On St. Joseph.-From a rock on the sea-side called the Three Boys, to a beef-wood tree on the edge of the south-east side of Hill's alias Rowley's mill (now Malvern), to the west side of a gully in Smith's land, a straight line.

ST. GEORGE.

On St. Joseph.—The last-described line continued straight to a stone set up between the lands of Fort and Hooper, on the south side of the road (this mark is now in Fisher-pond land). On St. Thomas. From the said stone to Ridgeway's corner tree, a Fiddle-wood tree standing on the south side of the road, a straight line (this is in the middle of the road opposite the Exchange gap). On St. Michael.—From Ridgeway's corner tree a straight line ranging with the north-east corner of Kirton's house till it intersects the boundary of Christ Church in Berney's land (now Hanson's).

ST. MICHAEL.

On St. Thomas and St. James.-From Ridgeway's corner tree by the north end of Piggott's house to the sea, a straight line.

ST. THOMAS.

On St. James. From the boundary of St. Michael, in Bullard's land (now Clermont), through Bullard's mill to Dotin's and Maverick's corner plumtree, a straight line; from thence to Gibbes's mill (now Plum-tree), a straight line; from thence to Walter's south mill, a straight line. On St. Andrew and St. Joseph.-From Walter's south mill (now Apes' Hill) to the eastward

end of Peake's house (Teake's house in Mayo's map), a straight line; from thence to a rock in Savory's land, a straight line; from thence to a stone set up between the lands of Fort and Hooper, on the south side of the road on the boundary of St. George, a straight line.

ST. JOSEPH.

On St. Andrew.-From the boundary of St. Thomas, in Taitt's land, to the south-east corner of Mallard's land to a cherry-tree on a hill, a straight line; from thence to a stone erected on a chalky hill (Chalky Mount?) near the sea, and to the sea, a straight line.

ST. ANDREW.

On St. James.-From Walter's south mill (Apes' Hill), to Alleyne's mill (since destroyed), a straight line. On St. Peter. From Alleyne's mill to Husband's mill, a straight line; from thence to Pico Teneriffe and to the sea, a straight line.

ST. JAMES.

On St. Peter. From Alleyne's mill to Margaret's fort or battery and to the sea, a straight line.

ST. PETER.

On St. Lucy. From the sea through the centre of Maverick's mill, Gray's house (now Oxford), Rupert's fort, and to the sea, a straight line.

VIII. (Page 244.)
Limits of Bridgetown.

An Act (No. 46 of George IV.) passed the Legislature on the 27th of August 1822, according to which the limits of Bridgetown were fixed as follows:-"From the Barrier bridge, in the direction of Bay-street, including the houses to the south-west of said bridge, as far as the Crown lands, from said bridge in a direct line to the cross road at Enmore House, marked by four pieces of cannon; from thence down Chepstow road to the river in front of the property of the late Samuel Ames, deceased, and from thence along the course of the river between the property of Dr. Straghan and the range of buildings called the Gully houses, in a line to the garden house, the property of Forster Clarke, Esq., and from thence along the road in front of Duncinane, across White-Park road, along Passage road and across Paxter's road to the corner of the road leading to Westbury, and from thence in a straight line to the beach, opposite the north-west point of Bird Island; according to the plan thereof hereunto annexed, marked with the letter A ; and all houses that now are, or shall, or may at any time or times hereafter be erected within the aforesaid limits, save and except such houses as shall have ten or more acres of land attached thereto, shall be deemed, taken and considered as Town property, and as such be subject and liable to be assessed and taxed by the said Vestry for the said parish of Saint Michael in their annual or other assessments."

IX. (Page 217.)

Size of the Parish Churches and principal Chapels in Barbados, and cost (in pounds sterling) of those which were erected or rebuilt after the hurricane in 1831.

[From Mr. Phillips's Barbados Almanac.]

Parish of St. Michael.-The Cathedral and Parish Church of St. Michael, 134 by 60 feet; rebuilt in 1789.

St. Mary's Chapel, 84 by 54 feet; built 1827; cost £8666.

St. Matthew's Chapel, 68 by 30 feet; built 1829, destroyed 1831; rebuilt 1832; cost £566.

St. Giles's Chapel-school, 50 by 25 feet; cost £333.

St. Stephen's Chapel, 70 by 30 feet; built 1836; cost £862.

St. Barnabas Chapel-school, 60 by 26 feet; built 1830; cost £800. Christ-Church Parish.—Church, 85 by 43 feet; rebuilt 1837; cost £4000. St. Bartholomew's Chapel, 65 by 30 feet; built and destroyed in 1831; rebuilt in 1832; cost £600.

St. Matthias' Chapel, 75 by 45 feet.

St. Lawrence Chapel-school, 40 by 21 feet; built 1837; cost £366. St. David's Chapel-school, 60 by 30 feet; built 1840; cost £650. St. Patrick's Chapel-school, 50 by 25 feet; built 1843.

Parish of St. Philip.-Church, 86 by 46 feet; rebuilt 1836; cost £4000. The Holy Trinity Chapel, 60 by 26 feet; built 1829, destroyed 1831;

rebuilt 1832; cost £725.

St. Martin's Chapel-school, 45 by 20 feet; built 1837; cost £350.
St. Catherine's Chapel-school, built 1841; cost £250.

Parish of St. John.-Church, 80 by 59 feet; rebuilt 1836; cost £4000. St. Mark's Chapel, 60 by 39 feet; built 1823, destroyed 1831; rebuilt 1832; cost £570.

Society's Chapel, 60 by 30, and two wings each 26 by 26 feet; built 1822, destroyed 1831; rebuilt 1833; cost £1200.

Parish of St. Joseph.-Church, 70 by 41 feet; rebuilt 1839; cost £1750. Little St. Joseph's Chapel-school, 50 by 24 feet; built 1837; cost £200.

Parish of St. Andrew.--Church, 60 by 40 feet; rebuilding.

St. Simon's Chapel-school, 54 by 22 feet; built 1840; cost £375. Parish of St. Lucy.-Church, 96 by 46 feet; rebuilt 1837; cost £3000.

St. Clement's Chapel; built 1838; cost £500.

St. Swithin's Chapel-school, 40 by 20 feet; wings 32 by 16 feet. Parish of St. Peter.- Church, 81 by 42 feet; rebuilt 1837; cost £3000. All Saints' Chapel, 60 by 30 feet.

Parish of St. James.-Church, 54 by 40 feet.

St. Alban's Chapel-school, 70 by 21 feet; repaired 1840; cost £330. Parish of St. Thomas.-Church, 83 by 45 feet; rebuilt 1837; cost £2666. Holy Innocents' Chapel, 65 by 35 feet; built 1839; cost £1333.

Parish of St. George.-Church, 80 by 40 feet.

St. Luke's Chapel, 67 by 27 feet; built 1830, destroyed 1831; rebuilt

1832; cost £500.

St. Jude's Chapel, 61 by 26 feet; built 1834; cost £780.

X. (Page 272.)

A Declaration of Lord Willoughby and the Legislature of the island of Barbados against the British Parliament1.

"A Declaration of my Lord Willoughby, Lieutenant-General, and Governor of Barbados, and other Carabis Islands; as also the Councel of the Island belonging to it; serving in answer to a certaine Act formerly put forth by the Parliament of England, the 3rd of October 1650. "A Declaration, published by Order of my Lord Lieutenant-General, the 18th of February 1651, the Lords of the Council, and of the Assemblie, being occasioned at the sight of certaine printed Papers, intituled, An Act forbidding Commerce and Traffick with the Barbados, Virginia, Bermudas, and Antego.

"The Lord Lieutenant-General, together with the Lords of this Council and Assembly, having carefully read over the said printed Papers, and finding them to oppose the freedom, safety, and well-being of this island, have thought themselves bound to communicate the same to all the inhabitants of this island; as also their observation and resolution concerning it, and to proceed therein after the best manner, wherefore they have ordered the same to be read publickly.

"Concerning the abovesaid Act, by which the least capacity may comprehend how much the inhabitants of this island would be brought into contempt and slavery, if the same be not timely prevented:

"First-They alledge that this island was first settled and inhabited at the charges, and by the esspecial order of the people of England, and therefore ought to be subject to the same nation. It is certain, that we all of us know very well, that wee, the present inhabitants of this island, were and still be that people of England, who with great danger to our persons, and with great charge and trouble, have settled this island in its condition, and inhabited the same, and shall wee therefore be subject to the will and command of those that stay at home? Shall we be bound to the Government and Lordship of a Parliament in which we have no Representatives, or persons chosen by us, for there to propound and consent to what might be needful to us, as also to oppose and dispute all what should tend to our disadvantage and harme? In truth, this would be a slavery far exceeding all that the English nation hath yet suffered. And we doubt not but the courage which hath brought us thus far out of our own country, to seek our beings and livelihoods in this wild country, will maintaine us in our freedoms; without which our lives will be uncomfortable to us.

1 From Grey's edition of Neale's History of the Puritans. London, 1739, vol. iv. Appendix 12,

"Secondly-It is alledged that the inhabitants of this island have, by cunning and force, usurped a power and Government.

"If we, the inhabitants of this island, had been heard what we could have said for ourselves, this allegation had never been printed; but those who are destined to be slaves may not enjoy those privileges; otherwise we might have said and testified with a truth, that the Government now used amongst us, is the same that hath always been ratified, and doth every way agree with the first settlement and Government in these places; and was given us by the same power and authority that New England hold theirs; against whom the Act makes no objection.

"And the Government here in subjection, is the nearest model of conformity to that under which our predecessors of the English nation have lived and flourished for above a thousand years. Therefore we conclude, that the rule of reason and discourse is most strangely mistaken, if the continuation and submission to a right well-settled Government be judged to be an usurping of a new power, and to the contrarie, the usurpation of a new Government be held a continuation of the old.

"Thirdly-By the abovesaid Act all outlandish nations are forbidden to hold any correspondency or traffick with the inhabitants of this island; although all the antient inhabitants know very well, how greatly they have been obliged to those of the Low Countries for their subsistence, and how difficult it would have been for us, without their assistance, ever to have inhabited these places, or to have brought them into order: and we are yet dayly sensible, what necessary comfort they bring to us dayly, and that they do sell their commodities a great deal cheaper than our own nation will doe : But this cumfort must be taken from us by those whose will must be a Law to us : But we declare, that we will never be so unthankful to the Netherlanders for their former help and assistance, as to deny or forbid them, or any other nation, the freedom of our harbours, and the protection of our Laws, by which they may continue, if they please, all freedom of commerce and traffick with us.

"Fourthly-For to perfect and accomplish our intended slavery, and to make our necks pliable for to undergo the yoake, they got and forbid to our own countrymen, to hold any correspondency, commerce, or traffick with us, nor to suffer any to come at us, but such who have obtained particular licences from some persons, who are expressly ordered for that purpose, by whose means it might be brought about, that noe other goods or merchandizes shall be brought hither, than such as the licensed persons shall please and think fit to give way to; and that they are to sell the same at such a price, as they shall please to impose on them; and suffer no other ships to come hither but their own: As likewise that no inhabitants of this island may send home upon their own account any island goods of this place, but shall be as slaves to the Companie, who shall have the abovesaid licences, and submit to them the whole advantage of our labour and industry.

"Wherefore, having rightly considered, we declare, that as we would not be wanting to use all honest means for the obtaining of a continuance of commerce, trade, and good correspondence with our country, soe wee will not

« PreviousContinue »