Page images

only, the cut omitted, and the size of the paper enlarged to a crown sheet; but it was occasionally varied.

The Journal gained an establishment, and maintained its ground against several other papers which have from time to time appeared in New Haven. It continued to be published by Thomas and Samuel Green, until February, 1799; Samuel then died, and the Journal was continued till January, 1809, by Thomas Green & Son. It has lately (1810) been enlarged to a sheet of royal, and the title altered to The Connecticut Journal and Advertiser. In Jauuary, 1809, it was printed by Thomas Green & Co.In July of the same year, Thomas Green retiring from business, the new firm was dissolved, and the Journal published, on Thursdays, “ by Eli Hudson, successor to T. Green & Co.”





The New-London Summary. The Summary was the second newspaper established in that colony, and was first published August 8, 1758, by the second Timothy Green. It was printed on a small half sheet, and occasionally on a whole sheet, weekly; at first on Tuesday, and afterwards on Friday. A small cut of the colony arms was in the title. Green continued the Sum

Samuel Green died at New Haven, Feb., 1799, aged 46. His brother Thomas died there also, May, 1812, aged 77. Thomas, Jr., died in May, 1825, aged 60.- M.

* The company were Thomas Green, jun., and Thomas Collier. Collier served his apprenticeship with his uncle Richard Draper, at Boston, and was the publisher of a newspaper at Litchfield, in 1785, entitled, The Weekly Monitor and American Advertiser.

* In 1819 it would seem that Hudson had passed the Journal to other hands, as he was in that year a journeyman in the office of the Connecticut Herald. He was inefficient and dissipated. The Journal was published until about 1834, by Newton & Peck, on whose hands it died, or was merged in another concern.- M.

mary until his death, which happened in October, 1763, and three weeks after his demise it was discontinued.

The New-London Gazette. With the latest Advices, Foreign and Domestick. This Gazette was substituted for the Summary, which it immediately succeeded. It had a cut of the king's arms in the title, and was first published November 1, 1763, by Timothy Green, the third printer of this name in New London. This paper was issued weekly, on Friday, on a sheet of foolscap, folio, principally from a long primer type.

On the 17th of December, 1773, the title was altered to The Connecticut Gazette. It was enlarged to a sheet of crown, and afterwards to a sheet of larger size.

This paper outlived several which, since 1775, were published in the same place; it uniformly defended the rights of the country before our revolution, and supported federal republican principles after the adoption of the constitution.3

Timothy Green, the first printer of the Gazette, in May,

1 We learn from Miss Caulkins, that it was entitled The New London Summary, or the Weekly Advertiser, with the Freshest Advices, Foreign and Domestic. The colophon was, Printed by Thomas Green. It was a folio sheet; the size of the page 8 X 12 inches, in two columns. A cut of the colony seal, surmounted by an escutcheon of the town, a ship under full sail, by way of crest. No. 1 was issued Aug. 8, 1758; the elitor died Aug. 3, 1763, and the paper was discontinued. — M.

· After the peace of Paris, in 1763, the trade of New London revived, and the Gazette was printed on the 3d Nov. (Hist. Nero Lond., ed. 1860, p. 478). The size was considerably increased, the print arranged in three columns, and the price 38. per annum. It changed owners often, the last Green surrendering it in 1841, and in 1844 it was discontinued, after an existence of more then 80 years. See Caulkins's llist. New London, ed. 1860, p. 6545.- M.

* In 1797, Charles Holt began to publish a paper in New London, called The Bee. So fully did the Greens possess the ground, that it was seriously inquired of Mr. Holt if he had obtained permission of them to publish a paper there. Holt removed to Hudson, N. Y., in 1802.-M.

1793, resigned his right in the paper to his son, Samuel Green, who continued its publication.


The Connecticut Courant. This was the third newspaper established in the colony. It was first published in December, 1764, by Thomas

"A fac-simile of the first Courant was published, in 1864, which is dated Monday, October 29, 1764. It appears to have been a prospectus number, unknown to Mr. Thomas. It was issued as Number 00, and is dated “ Hartford: Printed by Thomas Green, at the Heart and Crown, near the North Meeting House.” The following is the editor's address :

“ Hartford, October 29th, 1764." “Of all the Arts which have been introducid amongst Mankind, for the civilizing Human-Nature, and rendering Life agreeable and happy, none appear of greater Advantage than that of Printing : for hereby the greatest Genius's of all Ages, and Nations, live and speak for the Benefit of future Generations.- Was it not for the Press, we should be left almost intirely ignorant of all those noble Sentiments which the Antients were endow'd with. By this Art, Men are brought acquainted with each other, though never so remote, as to Age or Situation ; it lays open to View, the Manners, Genius and Policy of all Nations and Countries and faithfully transmits them to Posterity.— But not to insist upon the Usefulness of this Art in general, which must be obvious to every One, whose Thoughts are the least extensive. The Benefit of a Weekly Paper, must in particular have its Advantages, as it is the Channel which conveys the History of the present Times to every Part of the World. The Articles of News from the different Papers (which we shall receive every Saturday, from the neighboring Provinces) that shall appear to us, to be most authentic and interesting shall always be carefully inserted; and great Care will be taken to collect from Time to Time all domestic Occurrences, that are worthy the Notice of the Publick; for which, we shall always be obliged to any of our Correspondents, within whose Knowledge they may happen. The CONNECTICUT COURANT, (a Specimen of which, the Publick are now presented with) will, on due Encouragement be continued every Monday, beginning on Monday, the 19th of November, next: Which Encouragement we hope to deserve, by a constant Endeavour to render this Paper, useful and entertaining, not only as a Channel for News, but assisting to all those who may have Occasion to make use of it as Advertiser."

This paper is still (1872) in successful career, being published daily, and weekly; the latter issue is stated at 9000 copies. – V.


[blocks in formation]

Green, on a sheet of pot size, and continued, weekly on Tuesita, until 1767. Green then took as a partner Eben

ezer Watson, and removed to New Haven. Watson managed the Courant for two years, under the firm name of Green & Watson, after which Watson became its proprietor. The paper was for a number of years printed with a much worn long primer type, occasionally intermixed with columns and half columns of old pica. About the year 1773, it was enlarged to a crown sheet; a coarse cut of the king's arms was inserted in the title, to which was added, “ Containing the freshest and most important Advices, both Foreign and Domestic." The Courant was afterwards printed on a new type, when it made a more respectable appearance. The king's arms were discarded, and the arms of Connecticut took their place in the title, which was

now altered to The Connecticut Courant and Ilartford Weekly Intelligencer : Containing, &c. Imprint: “Printed and published by Ebenezer Watson, near the Great-Bridge.”

After the British troops gained possession of New York, and the newspapers on the side of the country in that place were discontinued, and the printers of them dispersed, the Courant became of much consequence; its circulation rapidly increased; and, for some time, the number of copies printed weekly was equal to, if not greater, than that of any other paper then printed on the continent.

Watson, the publisher, died in September, 1777, and the Courant was continued by his widow and George Goodwin, under the firm of Watson & Goodwin, until March, 1779.

Barzillai IIudson' married the widow of Watson, and became the partner of Goodwin in March, 1779; and, from that time to the present (1810), the Courant has been pub


Mr. Hudson died July 31, 1823, aged 82; at which time he was the senior proprietor of the Courant.- M.


lished by the well established firm of Hudson & Goodwin ;' the latter of whom has the management of the press.? From the commencement of the war, in 1775, many respectable writers occasionally furnished this paper with political essays in favor of measures adopted by the country in the time of the great contest; and in defence of those since pursued by the federal administration.


The Norwich Packet. And, the Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hamp

shire, and Rhode Island Weekly Advertiser. The publication of the Packet began in October, 1773. It was handsomely printed with a new long primer type, on a sheet of crown paper, weekly, on Thursday. “Norwich Packet” was engraved in large German text, and the title was divided by a large cut of a ship under sail. Imprint,“ Norwich: Printed by Alexander Robertson, James Robertson & John Trumbull, at the Printing-Office near the Court-House, at Six Shillings and Eight Pence per Annum. Advertisements, &c., are thankfully received for


[ocr errors]

Mr. Goodwin was yet hale and active when I knew him in Hartford, in 1829, and for more than twelve years afterwards, was still in the habit, although no longer a partner in the concern, of walking to the printing office daily, and setting up paragraphs in type, to gratify long established habit. He died May 14, 1844, aged 88. In 1842, an old gentleman called at the office of the Courant, who stated that he was in his 86th year, and that he had been a subscriber to the paper sixty-five years.- M.

2 The Courant is still published at Hartford, by Hawley, Goodrich & Co.- H.

'Caulkins's Iistory of Noriich, pp. 357–64, gives a fac-simile of the head of this paper, and an extended account of it and its publishers. See also The Vorwich Jubilee, p. 292, for a historical sketch of printers and printing in that place.- M.


« PreviousContinue »