Page images
[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

WE were favoured with the drawing from which the plate which adorns our present number was engraved, by the kindness of E. Blore, Esq., who was pleased to express his good will towards our Miscellany, by sketching this apcient house, while on a visit in this neighbourhood. It was long the residence of a branch of a family who were in great note in the northern part of Derbyshire. Of this family were, John and Geoffrey Blythe, sons of William Blythe, of Norton, to whom a grant of arms was made in 1485. The former became bishop of Salisbury, and the latter bishop of Coventry and Litchfield. The tomb which the latter placed over the remains of his parents is still to be seen in Norton church. The received pedigrees bring the Blythes of Norton-Lees froin Thomas Blythe, uncle to the two bishops, from whom, after several generations, sprang William Blythe, of Norton-Lees, yeoman, perhaps the builder of this honse. He married to his first wife Frances Vesey, of a very ancient family, in the wapentake. of Strafforth and Tickhill, daughter to William Vesey, by whom he had William Blythe, of Norton-Lees, a commander in the Parliament army, who married a Bright, and died early in 1666. He had, for a short time, à command in Sheffield Castle. His family was brought up in principles of nonconformity, and his son William Blythe obtained a licence for having divine service in his house at Norton-Lees, in the time of Charles II. His son and successor was a dissenting minister, and, residing on the estate of his ancestors, officiated in 1716 to a small congregation at Attercliffe. In the next generation the estate was sold, and is at present in the possession of Samuel Shore, Esq. of Meersbrook.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors]


4o-fo-40040-$+1000-do-doo THIS noble and beautiful pile of building, which rivals in elegance and extent many of the productions of ancient Greece and Rome, was founded

for the accommodation of the monks of the Cistercian* order, by John de Ebor, at that time the abbot, about the year 1204; and completed under the superintendence of his immediate successors John Phud and John de Cancia, the latter of whom finished the structure, instituted nine altars therein, added a beautiful painted pavement, erected the new cloister, the infirmary, and the house for the entertainment of the poor. In its original and perfect state this extensive pile of building, with its appendages, occupied upwards of ten acres of ground, two only of which are taken up with the present ruins, which present a beautiful and interesting prospect from whatever point of view they are contemplated.

It is impossible, at this remote périod, to form an adequate idea of the noble and sublime appearance which such extensive and beautiful erections must have presented to the eye of the spectator in their pristine splendour; but if the parts:which have been dilapidated and destroyed by the hand of time bore any proportion to those which still remain to be ex. plored by the antiquary or investigated by the curious, we may, indeed, form the most exalted opinion of its original grandeur and beauty,

There were formerly to be found many columns of black marble, with white spots, in the most eastern transversed part of the church; and many pillars of the same quality supported and adorned the chapter and refectory. The length of the church from east to west is 351 feet, and the width of the transept 186 feet. The ambulatory, which is situated behind the altar, is 132 feet long, and 36 feet broad.

HENRY, first Lord PERCY of Alnwick, was buried, in the year 1315, before the high altar, on the left side of which, carved upon the wall, is the figure of an angel holdiog a scroll, on which is the date 1285. This figure must have been placed there forty-five or fifty years subsequent to the completion of the building; for John de Cancia, who was abbot at the time it was finished, died in or about the year 1245, being the twentyfifth year of the reign of Henry III.

The whole of this fabric was begun and finished in the course of about forty years; a spaee of time which, allowing for the tardy proceeding of ancient architects, may be considered by no means too long for the completion of so immense an undertaking.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

* The Cestercians derived their name from Cistertium, or Cisteaux, in the diocese of Chalons. It was instituted in 1098, by one Robert, who had been abbot of Molesme. This pious man is said to have withdrawn himself, with a select number of his monks, from the rest of the community, on account of their dissolute manners. To the rnles of St. Benedict, which the founder had adopted, some others were added by their third abbot, named Stephen Harding, who was an Englishman. Pope Urban 11. confirmed these (which were called Charitatis Charte) in the year 1107.

The Cistertians, who were also sometimes called Bernardines, were so particular as not to admit of another religious house, even of their own order, within a certain distance. They had the denomination of White Monks, from a white gown and cassock which they wore at church, though they had a black gown to put on when they went abroad. According to Emmilianne, they pretended to adopt the white habit, in obedience to the Virgin Mary, who, having appeared to St. Bernard (the founder of 150 of these houses), commanded that the dress should be adopted for her sake, to whom their monasteries were generally dedicated. Their first house in England was at Waverley, in Surrey; and they had 85 here. They came over in 1128, and generally fixed their abode in solitary places.- Boswell's Antiquities.

[ocr errors]


[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors]

The Chapter-house is 84 feet by 42; and contains the tombs of eighteen
of the abbots ; the last of whom was interred A. D. 1345. . In the years
1790 and 1791 the rubbish was taken out of this chapter-house when a
painted pavement, broken and disfigured in many places, was discovered,
and thirteen of the tomb-stones of the abbots, the inscriptions on two of
which were alone legible.

First Inscription.

Second Inscription.
The latter of these was John de Cancia, who was created abbot in 1219.

Their coffins were of stone, covered with two courses of slate well ce-
mented together. The grave-stones are of gray marble mixed with spar, and
are about six feet long, two feet broad at the head, and eighteen inches at
the feet. The library and scriptorium were situated over the chapter-house.

The Refectory, or dining-room, is 130 feet by 47.

The Cloisters are 300 feet long and thirty-six broad, having an arched
zoof supported hy twenty-one pillars.

“ Here let my due feet never fail
To walk the studious cloysters pale,
And love the high embowed roof,
With antic pillars massy proof,
Aud storied windows richly dight,

Casting a dim religious light.”

[ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors]


[merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors]

The Dormitory, or sleeping-room, is situated above the cloisters, and is of the same dimensions.

The Cloister-garden is 126 feet square, enclosed by a high wall, and planted with evergreens.

There are still growing, on the south side of the abbey, several yewtrees, the circumference of one of which is twenty-six feet six inches. It was under these trees, as is recorded, that the monks used to assemble previously to the erection of the monastery; and the consideration of the fact, that a yew-tree increases very little in the course of a year, and that these are grown to a most prodigious size, might seem to favour this traditionary tale.*

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors]

* At York, the Cistertian abbey of Rievel, being much celebrated for the sanctity and
strict discipline of the monks placed there, some of the religious of the Benedictine mo-
nastery of St. Mary's, together with Richard their prior, wished their house might adopt
the like rules and discipline.

This being opposed by their abbot Girald, a visitation was sollicited; but when arch-
bishop Thurston came to St. Mary's, attended by many clergymen, for that purpose, &
tumult was the consequence; and the prelate laid the monastery under an interdict.
But Richard, together with the sub-prior, and 12 of the brethren, withdrew to Thur-
stan's house, where they remained in a state of separation from the interdicted commu.
nity, and, it is related, spent eleven weeks and five days mostly in fasting and prayer.

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

Over a window on the west side of the steeple, is the figure of a thrash standing on a tun: this is a rebus, allusive to the name of the founder, Thurstan, archbishop of York. On each side of the steeple, the following inscriptions remain legible:

On the East-Side,


North-Side, Upper Line,

North-Side, Lower Line,

Although the Abbey of Fountains became so liberally endowed, yet
the founders of it remained some time in a state of the most distressing
poverty, insomuch that one day, when the abbot had been out to beg,
and yet all the common stock amounted only to two loaves and a half of
bread, a stranger asking for a morsel at the door, the abbot ordered one
of the loaves to be given him; saying that God would provide for them,
and the story adds, that the good man's saying was verified, for soon
afterwards Earl Fitz John, owner of Scarbrough, sent them a cart-load of
bread; and they collected some little store at harvest-time. Two years,
however, were spent by them in great hardships, but about the end of that
period their affairs began to mend. Hugh, dean of York, a man of wealth,
falling sick, ordered himself and all he was possessed of to be carried to
the monastery of Fountains, Serlo and Tosti, two rich canons of York,
devoted themselves and all their possessions to this monastery. Robert de
Sartis and his wife, whose bodies were interred here, bequeathed to the
community their town of Harleshows, with the fields adjacent, and the
forest of Warkesall. The village of Caiton was given them by Serlo de
Pembroke ; and the abbot, besides, obtained the Grange of Aldeburghof

The business of St. Mary's produced applications to the king and mutual accusations, and the archbishop of Canterbary, then the pope's legate in England, was acquainted by Thurstan with all these proceedings; but we cannot find what was the determination, farther than that at the succeeding Christmas, the archbishop gave the separatists a certain parcel of lands, about three miles north from Ripon, a spot represented as little better than a 'desert, and the monks as being reduced to such a state that first a large elm, and then a few yew-trees furnished, both by day and night, all their cover ing from the inclemency of the weather at that bleak season. The place lay between two steep hills, and was surrounded on all sides with rocks and brambles. This ungrateful soil they endeavoured to clear and cultivate, though at the same time they were so much in want of food, that they were reduced to the necessity, as their namber increased, of subsisting on wild herbs, when they could find them, and sometimes even on the leaves of trees.

Hargrove's History of Knaresbrough. † Boswell's Antiquities.

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors]


(Continued from page 343.)

To the Editors of the Northern Star. CONFORMABLY to my promise, I now send you some farther account of the ancient history of Doncaster, continued from an article which appeared in your Fifth Number.

The Roman topography of Britain is at best doubtful and obscure ; nothing can be distinctly seen, and therefore little thoroughly understood ; the united labours of full fourteen centuries have been insufficient to dispel the darkness which hangs over it. If our niore early ancestors, (some of whom conld view our classic relics with the eye of an antiquary,) overlooked the vestiges of Roman grandeur, then existing with more prominence; what, in our day, can be expected but confusion more confounded, when the efforts of an increasing population, in order to the gratification of some caprice of bad taste, are fast levelling every noble pile of antiquity, filling up the protecting ditch, and tossing down the ponderous wall, which the infancy of warfare rendered formidable; --while the plough, at once the cause of their destruction and the means of many interesting discoveries, is progressively producing a revolution on the face of the earth, and, in time, cannot fail of effecting the total destruction of every vestige of antiquity to which it has access.

If, however, the Roman topography of Britain be obscure, that of the few writers which succeeded the Romans is, if possible, more difficult of elucidation. · Even in the natural and political history of our island, which is so important in enabling us to trace the gradual course of circulization in our largest and most beautiful cities, “ from the mud-wall cottage to the gilded palace, we have to lament an irremediable deficiency. Our knowledge of local districts, and particular places where important events are said to have occurred in Anglo-Saxon times, is extremely limited. We have little else to depend upon but the ignorant and designing monks, whose lying legends equal in absurdity the sources of Grecian mythology, and whose party-spirit indeed rather darkened than enlightened the period their writings profess to describe.

In Saxon bistory, Doncaster is known only by name, having no oceurence immediately near it, worthy of note, save the battle of Hatfield, which was fought between Penda, the Pagan king of Mercia, and Ceadwalla, the Briton. In this battle King Edwin of Northumberland lost his life; he was its first Christian king, and with him perished his eldest son prince Offaide ; this event took place in A. D. 633. Evident vestiges of an encampment yet remain, which appears to have been very extensive.

The Harleian MSS., as also the collections of the indefatigable Dodsworth, record that Doncaster, some short time prior to the Conquest, was in the possession of the Frossarts family, who held it of the king in capite, and in whose family it appeared to be hereditary; but he, like the genera..

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »