« PreviousContinue »
part of a system of improvements which is likely to be carried into effect. A street is intended to be carried along the river from the bridge, as far as the town extends, to be terminated at each end by an elegant public building. At the north end, it is proposed to have a coffee-room, and assembly-rooms ; and at the other extremity, a new prison, and public offices. Such a street will certainly be of equal use and ornament to the town.
1599, Feb. 7. John Murray of Tibbermuir, and John Ross of Craigie, proprietors of the quarry.
The bridge was totally demolished by the overflowing of the river on the 14th October 1621. The surreptitious and imperfect history of Calderwood, gives the following account of this desolation :
“ October 4th, A. D. 1621, the stately bridge of Perth newly completed, consisting of ten arches, was destroyed by the high swelling of the river Tay. The water of Almond, and a loch be-west the town, came down on the west hand, as dangerous as the river on the east. The town was environed with water, so that none could pass out for five or six days; nor could the inhabitants go from house to house for the water in the streets. Young children were let down at windows by cords to boats. The people ascribed this wrack to iniquity committed in the town; for there was held the last General Assembly, and an. other in 1596, when the schism in the kirk began; and in 1606 here was held that Parliament, at which bishops were erected, and the Lords rode first in their scarlet gowns.” This bridge was certainly a piece of fine and strong workmanship. The second arch next to the town is yet to be seen, lying entirely on the bed of the river, when the water is low in the summer-sea
In July 1771, I went on board a boat with some gentlemen, and rowing gently over this arch, we clearly discerned the oining of the stones with a white cement, untouched with the injury of one hundred and fifty years." ---CANT,
WATERGATĖ, HOUSE OF THE GREEN, &c. 21 Proceeding along the High Street to the west, the first opening on our left is the Watergate, which being, until within these few years, the principal avenue from the south, was one of the best frequented streets in town. In it were many mansions of the nobility, and the courts towards the river still contain several good houses which open into gardens. At the north-west corner, an old British temple is said to have stood. A handsome modern house now on the spot, has a marble stone in front, bearing the arms of the family of Aldie, and the following inscription :
“ Here stood the house of the green.”
This house of the green, where the golfers of elder times used to deposit their clubs and balls, certainly occupied the situation of some more considerable and older building, as in digging the foundations of the house, subterraneous apartments of very ancient architecture were discovered.
A little farther on is John's Street; a new avenue which the inconvenience of the Watergate suggested the necessity of. But, too economical to apply for an act of Parliament, bargains were made with proprietors, and, instead of producing a street spacious and elegant, it is crooked and deformed by projecting
John Street passes St John's Church. This ancient building appears to have been in the form of the cross on which our Saviour suffered. called “ The Kirk of the Holy Cross of St Johnston;" B 3
and although it has been almost entirely rebuilt at different periods, yet enough of the ancient architecture remains, to shew that it has been an uncommon fine structure. At the north-west corner, two stately and beautiful arched windows rear themselves, now naked and useless, above the present roof of the West Church, which far below has sunk its diminished head. These, with the adjoining tower, are evidently the most ancient parts of the building, and convey an idea of former grandeur, which contrasts, in a melancholy manner, with its present appearance. The edifice is divided into the East, West, and Middle Churches. The former was the choir, and still retains, uninjured, its magnificent pillars, and beautiful window. The steeple contains some fine bells *.
At the west end of the church stands the Academy. This seminary was instituted in 1761, and has con
*“ The parish church could not be built prior to the year 412 ; for it was not till that year, that the Southern Picts, who inhabited the country south from the Grampian mountains, were converted to the Christian religion. The pious missionary among these heathens, who were the ancestors of the generality of the people in this part of the country, was Ninian from Galloway.
But the church might be built shortly after; and probably was one of the first in the kingdom that was built with stone.
The present edifice has undergone many changes. Some parts of it are evidently of a much older structure than the others are.
After the year 1126, when the property of the church and tithes had been given to the abbey of Dunfermline, no great care, as might have been expected, seems to have been taken of the fabric. The monks endeavoured to throw the burden of the work upon the town, and the town upon the monks; and when
tinued to increase in reputation. The branches of education which are taught here, are such as qualify for business or the army, rather than the learned professions. Board and lodging are provided reasonably in the houses of the masters, and students are always numerous.
Behind the Academy is the Butcher-market, which is always well supplied ; and as the slaughter-houses are at some distance, there is no want of cleanliness.
monastery churches began to be built in Perth, in the reign of Alexander II. the zeal of the people was diverted from attending to the concerns of the parish church.
During the national confusions, which commenced in the year 1290, this, as well as other public works, was necessarily disregarded. At length Robert the Bruce, in the year 1328, which was the year before his death, and when he had, in a great degree, restored good order in the kingdom, used some means for the reparation of the church and bridges which belonged to Perth. It does not appear who were chiefly to bear the expences; but he directed the following letter to the abbot and convent of Scone, as proprietors of some quarries in the neighbourhood.
“ Robertus, Dei gratia, Rex," &c. “ Robert, by the grace of God, King of Scuts, to our beloved and faithful religious men, the abbot and convent of Scone, greeting. We request, and that very earnestly, that you would grant liberty of taking hewed stones of Kyncarachi and Balcormac, for the edification of the church of Perth, and of the bridges of Perth and Eyrn : Providing always that this liberty shall not be of any prejudice or damage to you. Given at Glasco, the fourth day of July, in the twenty-third year of our reign."
The church had been repaired, or at least was fully in use, about eight years after, when the following event is said to have happened in it.
To the south side of the church a new house has been stuck. The first floor is appropriated for the business of the kirk-session. Up two pair of stairs, the drawing master of the Academy gives his lessons, and the highest story contains a public library. As this last possesses no funds but those arising from the subscriptions of the readers, the sum annually appropriated for purchases is small, but the selection is judicious, In this room also are held the sittings of
The national troubles had been renewed, during the minority of David Bruce. The English King, Edward III. took possession of Perth in July 1335, which became the head-quarters of his army, and where he resided for some time.
He was again at Perth in July 1336, and while he continued there, being one day, as it should seem in the month of September, standing before the altar of St John, in the parish-church of Perth, his brother, John Earl of Cornwall, who had newly arrived in Perth, came to him.
This young prince, in his way from England, had treated in general the Scots he had met with as enemies. He had wasted, it is said, with fire and sword, the western counties, though the people had submitted themselves, and were in peace with the King his brother He had burnt the church of the priory of Lesmahago in Clydesdale, besides some other churches, and numbers of persons in them, who had fled thither as to holy places of refuge.
The King, who had heard of his proceedings, immediately when he saw him, remonstrated to him
wanton cruelties he had committed. The prince, as Fordun relates, returned a proud answer, which so much provoked the King, that he suddenly drew a small sword, or dagger, and gave him a mortal tround. As Fordun expresses it, the prince “ being wounded with the