Page images
PDF
EPUB

is a dock-yard where two vessels are generally on the stocks. Farther down the river is the quay, where vessels with miscellaneous cargoes unload ; and still lower is one appropriated for lime-vessels. Although the Tay is the largest of British rivers, if we estimate their magnitude by the quantity of water contributed to the ocean, yet its navigation is so much interrupted by a shallow a little below the Inch, that many vessels prefer transmitting their cargoes by lighters from

Newburgh,

In architecture ; his learned art did lay
The spacious arches of the bridge of Tay,
Which as demolished by a mighty spate,
So was bis fabric by the course of fate :
Six lustres since, and more his progenie
Succeeding to that art their sire outvy ;
And this assigned, his worth deserved one
Of jet or marble, not of common stone.
Seven foot of ground, clay-flour, clay-wall,
Serve both for chamber and for hall,
To Master Mill whose squrbuile brain *,
Could ten escurialls well containe,
Whill he breath'd life, yet in his sonne,
And sonn's sonne, he lives two for one ;
Who, to advance Mill's art and fame,
Make stocks and stones speak out his name.

One of his descendants removed to Edinburgh, and built Mylne's-court, Mylne's-square, and other buildings about the Abbey. Two celebrated architects, Mr Robert Myine at London, and his brother Mr Myine at Edinburgh, are descended from him."-CANT.

*“ A French word adopted into the old Scottish language, and used in the northern counties to signify an ingenious artist, who understands every science."

Newburgh, ten miles below, rather than run the risk of being detained by neap-tides above the bar. To obviate this obstruction, it has been proposed to construct a wet-dock in the Inch, to communicate by a canal with the river below the shallow. It has been calculated, that a very small impost on tonnage, and one too that would be willingly paid, would defray the expence of this undertaking. If that is the case, we may reasonably hope that the plan will very soon be carried into effect.

Crossing the Inch, to re-enter the town by Prince's Street, we pass the yards of the timber-merchants, whose trade forms a material part of the immediate imports of Perth from the Continent. A little farther on is the English Chapel, an elegant structure.

The South Street will be found to contain little worthy of notice. It is straight and spacious, but the houses are mean. On the south side stands a meeting-house of the Missionaries, a large building, but without any pretensions to architectural elegance. On the opposite side, is a Church of Relief. It is not seen from the street, and will not reward the curiosity of those who go out of their way to examine it. Near the ground which it occupies, there stood a chapel which was undoubtedly an erection of more magnificence. Why it was denominated the chapel of Allareit, or Loretto, we do not learn. Another religious house occupied a situation at the end of the South Street on the north side, which was called the Rood Chapel, or Chapel of the Holy Cross. But the most sumptuous building which adorned Perth, appears to have been the Carthusian

Monastery, 1

Monastery, which stood where the Hospital is now. The monks of this order had no other establishment in Scotland. They settled here in 1429, and their residence was denominated Monasterium vallis virtutis. In 1559 the building was razed, and its inhabitants driven out to find refuge elsewhere *. The Hospital,

which

נת

*“ The building was a very fine structure. Its destruction by the mob, A. D. 1559, about the beginning of the Reformation, was greatly lamented and resented by the regent Mary, who threatened the town of Perth. Knox, violent as he was for the Reformation, disapproved of these barbarities in razing noble structures to the ground.

“ Oswald de Corda, Vicar of the Chartrieux near Grenoble, was the first superior of this monastery. He died, A. D. 1434, and was succeeded by Adam de Hangleside, a Scotsman.

“ The monks had large revenues assigned to them. Adam Foreman, the last Prior, when the monastery was demolished, retired, together with his brethren, to Errol, of which church they were patrons. There he feued out to John Foreman, son and heir of Robert Foreman of Luthrie, for a sum of money, the lands of the Chapel of Mary Magdalene, Friertown, and Craigie, and the south part of the island below Perth, with the salmon-fishings.

“ King James the Sixth afterwards confirmed to James Moncrieff, secundum tenorem seulli firmie, given by the prior and convent of the Chartrieux Monastery to John Moncrieff, the 14th of November 1569, the house, place, and all the lands, orchards and gardens, stanks, and bulwarks without the town, belonging to the monastery, with the tithes. This charter is dated at Leith, 18th May 1572, and the 5th year of his reign.

“ He created George Hay of Nether Lyffe, Commendator of the Priory of the Charter-house, giving all the emoluments belonging to it, together with a place and vote in Parliament. This patent is given at Holyroodhouse; and to support his

dignity,

which is intended for the reception and support of infirm paupers, is a large and handsome building *.

There is nothing to induce a farther walk to the westward. The Chapels of St Leonard † and Mary

Magdalene

dignity, the King grants him by another charter, dated from the same place, ist February 1598, of his reign the 3źd year, all the ecclesiastical lands of Errol, with their privileges and pertinents.

“ But the said George Hay, finding the rents too small to support the dignity of a Lord, returned back to the King his peerage, and resigned his title of Lord in his Majesty's hands, reserving to himself and his heirs the patronage of the church of Errol; which resignation, with the reservation, were accepted of by his Majesty. Thus the name of Lord and Priør of the Charterhouse of Perth became extinct.

“ Mr Patrick Russel, one of the continuators of Fordun's Scotichronicon, was a Monk in the Charter-house; the other two were Magnus M'Culloch, Monk at Scone, and the principal author was Walter Bower, or Bow-maker, Abbot of Inch colm.”_CANT.

* " Provost James Cree laid the foundation-stone of this elegant building, which was finished in 1750. Incredible numbers of oyster shells were dug out of the foundations. The holy Monks abstained from flesh in the time of Lent, and indulged their appetites with this luxurious and nutritious shell-fish, for reasons best known to themselves. The reliets of this delicious morsel are to be seen among the rubbish of all the religious houses.”

Cant. +" St Leonard's, on the east and west sides of the long causeway leading to the bridge of Earn, stood about a quarter of á mile south-west from Perth. A farm house which goes by the old name, stands upon the spot opposite to it. On the cast is a rising ground, where the chapel stood. The lands now belong to the glovet-corporation. Prynne makes mention of La Priouressé

C

Magdalene formerly stood to the southward, but they', as well as St Katherine's at Claypots, and St Paul's at the north-west end of the New Row, have shared in the general destruction effected by the popular fury of reformation.

Leonard Street, Powmarium, the New Row, and the suburb of Earl's Dykes, are almost entirely occupied by weavers. Perth was long a place of great consequence in the linen trade: the manufacture of this article was very extensive, but it has now almost entirely given place to that of cotton.

From this valuable plant, cloths of every fabric and quality are woven to a very large annual amount.

Methven Street leads northward, and crosses the High Street, where one of the gates formerly stood. The situation is now loaded with a church, the structure of which architects will not much admire. It had been often remarked, that another steeple would much improve the prospect of Perth; but, to have a steeple, it was necessary to have a church, and therefore the foundation was laid of St Paul's chapel! Exactly opposite to, and very close upon the new church, is a meeting-house of Independents, which lays no claim to elegance.

The

de Seint Leonard, juste la ville de Seint Jahan de Perth. The Prioress is made mention of ad an. 1373, in the chartulary of Aberbrothock. It was suppressed by K. James I. and annexed to the charter-house of Perth, which he founded, together with the Magdalene's lands. The nunnery of St Magdalene was about a computed mile south from Perth, where there is a most excellent spring of living water, one of the best in this country."

CANT.

« PreviousContinue »