Page images

rectification was relegated to “the dim and distant future.”

Meanwhile, little occurred in the practical management of the Trust that requires particular notice. In 1821, it was ordered that letters be sent to those clergymen who had not furnished their returns for 1820. The number of Bibles distributed was slightly increased, In 1826 it was reported that 1,315 Bibles, 1,578 Catechisms, and 132 of“ Crossman's Introduction” were sent out; and it was ordered that the Bibles were to be bound with two brass clasps. The solicitor of the trustees, Mr. Moses Hoper, gave place to Messrs. J. & H. M. Boodle, of Brook Street, London, who delivered to them a schedule of the deeds and papers which they had received (June 28th, 1832), a copy of which is preserved in the Minute Book of the Trust, though most of the deeds and papers no longer exist, or are in other hands.


Probably the only exception to this perversion is in the case of those Bibles specially left to Swaledale, where vigorous remonstrance has maintained an adherence to the original terms of the Founder."

At a meeting of the trustees held at the Earl of Kinnoul's, July 18th, 1842, when only the Earl and the Right

Right Hon. . Thomas James Harley, Lord Rodney (Treasurer), were present, it was reported by the

newly appointed secretary, Deodatus Eaton, that “twenty Bibles had for the last three years fallen into the hands of the Rev. John Boyd an Independent minister at Feetham, in Swaledale," and it was ordered that “they should be sent to the Rev. E. P. Luscombe, appointed and doing duty at an Episcopal Chapel recently erected

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

at Melbecks, in the Manor of Feetham." At a subsequent meeting, held August 28th, 1843, it was stated that "it appearing by a Petition from the minister and congregation of Smarber Hall Chapel, at Low Row, in the Manor of Feetham, that the said chapel was founded and endowed by Lord Wharton himself, and that a grant of Bibles, &c., had been received by them for a very long period before the present Episcopal Chapel was built at Melbecks," it was resolved that ten Bibles, twelve Catechisms, and one “Crossman's " be sent to the Rev. J. Boyd, and the like number to the minister of the Episcopal Chapel. Twelve months later (October 2nd, 1844) it was “ordered that inquiry be made of the Rev. John Boyd, whether he duly distributed the Catechisms as required by the Letter of Instruction!"; and with his reply, which was said to be in the affirmative, the trustees “ expressed

themselves satisfied.”

Mr. Boyd was probably unaware of the original terms of the Trust, and being unwilling to lose the Bibles, he handed over the Church Catechisms to those who might wish for them. The Bibles continued to be sent to Low Row. The late minister of the Chapel, James Clark, wrote April 17th. 1894:


receive for distribution 20 Bibles, 20 Prayer Books, and 2 Reward Books, Bishop Oxenden's 'Pathway of Safety.' There is an impression among the older people in this district that at one time all the Bibles granted to Swaledale, were distributed from this Chapel. When the Rev. J. Woollard, of Richmond (Nonconformist minister), applied for a grant of Bibles it was refused by the trustees, who send annually 40 Bibles and Prayer Books to the Parish Church." There may possibly have been two or three other instances in which, under the management of the Trust at this period, Bibles were granted to Nonconformists when applied for; there were certainly others where they were applied for and refused.



37. George Murray, Bishop of

Rochester, 1844. 38. George, Marquis Camden. 39. Sir John Mordaunt, Bart. 40. George Boyd. 41. Viscount Duplin (Earl of

Kinnoul), 1859. 42. Lord Dynevor.

43. Lord Delamere.
44. Sir F. L. Arthur, Bart.
45. Canon Murray.
46. John, Marquis Camden,

47. Lord Beauchamp.
48. J. A. Shaw Stewart.

In 1843 some difficulty arose on account of there being “only three trustees resident in the United Kingdom," and of one of them, the Earl of Oxford, finding it impossible to attend the meetings, so that “a sufficient number of trustees to constitute a quorum could not be procured, and consequently no meeting could be legally held for transacting the business of the Trust, which was therefore necessarily at a standstill.” But on the death of Lord Rodney it was reported (October 2nd, 1844) that the following new trustees, making up the original number of seven, were appointed by the survivors, the Earl of Oxford, the Earl of Kinnoul, and George Harley Hay Drummond (who came to Brussels for the purpose of executing the deed), viz. : (37) The Right Reverend George Murray, Bishop of Rochester ; (38) George Charles Pratt, the Most Noble the Marquis Camden; (39) Sir John Mordaunt, Bart. ; and (40) George Boyd, of the Treasury, Whitehall, Esq

In some instances it was requested by incumbents of Churches that the number of Bibles might be reduced or discontinued, because there was not a sufficient number of young persons in their parishes who fulfilled the conditions required. From a return from the Rev. Scott Surtees, Vicar of Richmond, it appeared (1844) that he had distributed Bibles to "aged widows," and “young men going to Australia”; and he was requested to conform as nearly as possible to the Letter of Instructions. At the same time it was agreed to send thirty additional Bibles, &c., each to Dr. Hook, Vicar of Leeds; Dr. Sutton, Vicar of Sheffield; and Archdeacon Musgrave, of Halifax, on account of the great increase of population in these places. Some applications from places that were not named in the Instructions were made and granted; 130 Bibles, " with Catechisms and Crossman,” were sent to the “Manchester Church Education Society” (1847), for certain poor Day and Sunday-schools; a grant of fifteen Bibles, &c., was made to Dr. R. Murray, Rector of Brampton Bryan, for Lieutwardine School, co. Hereford, who stated that “this school was endowed by Mr. Harley, brother of the first Earl of Oxford; connected with the National Society, and under Government inspection"; and (1852) ten Bibles, &c., were ordered to be sent to Romford and Chelmsford, and addressed to the Bishop of Rochester, Bromley Palace, Kent.

The accumulated funds of the Trust in Old South Sea Annuities amounted at this time to £11,000; and the Chancellor of the Exchequer having announced a plan for extinguishing the whole of the South Sea Stocks, and offered for acceptance by the proprietors thereof one of four alternatives, it was agreed at a meeting held at the residence of the Earl of Kinnoul (May 19th, 1853) to accept the offer to commute the fund to 2} Per Cent. Stock, which was accordingly done. The effect of this was to reduce the annual income of the Trust to the extent of about £30, and to diminish the number of Bibles distributed.

On an application of the trustees (June 30th, 1855) to the Income Tax Commissioners for a remission of the duties paid in respect of this Trust over a period of eleven years, and its exemption from future payments, it was stated that “the reason of the exemption not having been claimed before is ascribable to the circumstance of the trustees having always regarded the Trust in the

light of a Private Trust and not of a Charity.” The sum of £453 155. was ultimately returned. In accordance with the requirement of the Charity Commissioners, the trustees made a return of the income and expenditure of the Charity; and shortly afterwards expressed “their wish and desire to transfer the administration of the Trust into the hands of the Commissioners, if they should feel disposed to undertake its entire responsibility, together with the control of the Funded and Real Property belonging to the Trust”; but the Commissioners replied that they were empowered to accept the transfer of property belonging to any Charitable Institution, but not to administer it in its application to the uses and purposes of such Trust.

Under an order of the Master of the Rolls dated August 9th, 1859, the following new trustees were appointed: (41) The Right Hon. Viscount Duplin (afterwards Earl of Kinnoul); (42) the Right Hon. Lord Dynevor; (43) the Right Hon. Lord Delamere; (44) Sir Frederick Leopold Arthur, Bart.; and (45) the Rev. Francis Henry Murray (son of the Bishop of Rochester); the Earl of Kinnoul and George Boyd Esq., being by the same order relieved from the Trust. The landed estate and £12,100 2} per cent. Annuities had now become vested in the Official Trustees of Charitable Lands and Funds. The next trustees, appointed by order of the Charity Commissioners, November 26th, 1867, were: (46) The Most Noble John Charles (Pratt), Marquis Camden; (47) the Right Hon. Frederick Earl Beauchamp; and (48) John Archibald Shaw Stewart, Esq.


At length the Sinningthwaite and other lands, which had been associated with the Wharton name for over 300 years, were to be so no longer, and the Bible Lands

« PreviousContinue »