My Odyssey: Memoirs of the Man behind the Mangalyaan Mission

Front Cover
Penguin UK, Nov 23, 2016 - Literary Collections - 328 pages
In 2014, Dr. K. Radhakrishnan was named one of the top ten scientists in the world by Nature magazine—the first Indian scientist to be so honoured. Earlier that year, the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) successfully ran the Mars Orbiter Mission, popularly known as the ‘Mangalyaan’ mission. ISRO’s Moon Rover, scheduled for 2018, is also Radhakrishnan’s brainchild. Witness to the transformation of India’s space programme in the early 1980s, Radhakrishnan cut his teeth with the SLV-3 project, the country’s first satellite launch vehicle. He worked with stalwarts like Dr Vikram Sarabhai, Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, Prof. Satish Dhawan and Mr Y.S. Rajan, wearing several different hats during his illustrious and challenging career. Radhakrishnan eventually turned major setbacks into roaring successes by his unfailingly belief in human endeavour and a commitment to excellence. Packed with invaluable information and insights, this fascinating memoir takes us behind the scenes of India’s cutting-edge world of scientific achievement.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


A Graceful Goodbye
Tale of the Boy Next Door
Transformation for Thumba
A Thumba Engineer in Action
Making of a Manager
Alliance with Avionics
The Crest and Crowns
Accolades for Assiduity
Made for Each Other
The Refutation and Reawakening
Through the Grass Roots and Grooves
Sailing through the High Seas
Hurled by the Tsunami
Home Is Where the Heart

Blooming at Bengaluru

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Dr K. Radhakrishnan studied engineering at the Government Engineering College, Thrissur, management at IIM, Bangalore, and completed his doctorate from IIT, Kharagpur. He worked at the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, the National Remote Sensing Centre, the Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services, and served as the chairman of ISRO until 2014.

Bibliographic information