« PreviousContinue »
which were destroyed by fire. The Revolutionary War, so disastrous to the commercial interest and prosperity of Newport, induced the greater part of them to leave the town, and after the conclusion of the war, the remnant that was left gradually declined, until not an individual now remains. Moses Lopez, nephew of the celebrated Aaron Lopez, was the last resident Jew in Newport. A few years previous to his death, he removed to New York; his remains were brought to Newport, and interred by the side of his brother Jacob, in the burial place of their fathers. Moses Lopez was a man of no common abilities; he was an honorable merchant, deeply versed in mathematics, and of uncommon mechanical skill. He was pleasant and interesting in conversation, and an ingenious defender of his religious belief. The Society of Jews, generally, who settled in this town, have left a reputation for integrity and uprightness, which should perpetuate their memory from generation to generation.
After the long interval of 60 years, in which the synagogue had been closed, in the year 1850 it was thrown open again, and services were performed on Saturday (the Jewish Sabbath), by an eminent Rabbi from New York. It was an important era, and calculated to revive in the mind the great and important events, which had taken place in the history of this distinguished people.'
During the Revolutionary war, Newport, though for some time in possession of the enemy, furnished a number of distinguished naval commanders, and a greater number of sailors, perhaps, than any other town of its size in the country. It is supposed that she contributed a thousand men for the naval service in that war, and that one half of these fell into the hands of the enemy, and mostly perished on board of prison ships. On the 10th of July, 1780, the French fleet of seven sail-of-the-line and five frigates, with a large number of transports and an army of 6,000, arrived at Newport, to the great joy of the inhabitants.
The fleet was commanded by the Chevalier de Tourney, and the army by Count de Rochambeau. The town was illuminated, and complimentary addresses were made by a committee of the general assembly, then in session, to both of the French commanders. The following is from Peterson's History of Rhode Island:
Admiral de Tourney died soon after his arrival at Newport, and was buried with military honors, in Trinity church-yard, where a slab was afterward erected to his memory, on the north side of the church. The funeral procession is said to have been grand and imposing, extending from his residence on the Point, at the Hunter House, to the church-yard, one dense mass of living beings, with the bands of music from the fleet, playing the most solemn strains, was a scene of deep interest to contemplate.
In March, 1781, General Washington, the savior of his country, arrived at Newport. He passed over from the main by Canonicut Ferry, and landed from his barge at the head of Long Wharf. As he passed, the French fleet, lying at the back of the fort, fired a salute, and the army was drawn up in order for his reception at the Long Wharf. Washington, the immortal commander-in-chief of the French and American armies, never appeared to greater advantage than when he passed over to Newport to review the French forces under Count Rochambeau. He was received at the head of Long Wharf by the French officers, at the head of 7,000 men, who lined the streets from thence the state-house.
"I never," says a bystander now living, "felt the solid earth tremble under me before. The firing from the French ships that lined the harbor, was tremendous; it was one continued roar, and looked as though the very bay was on fire. Washington, as you know, was a Marshal of France; he could not command the French army without being invested with that title. He wore, on this day, the insignia of his office, and was received with all the honors due to one in that capacity. It is known that many of the flower of the French nobility were numbered in the army that acted in our defense. Never,” said the aged narrator, “ will that scene be
erased from my memory. The attitudes of the nobles, their deep obeisance, the lifting of hats and caps, the waving of standards, the sea of plumes, the long line of French soldiers and the general disposition of their arms, unique to us, separating to the right and left, the chief, with Count Rochambeau on his left, unbonneted, walked through. The French nobles, commanders, and their under officers, followed in the rear. Count Rochambeau was a small
, keen-looking man, not handsome, as was his son, afterward governor of Martinique. Count Noailles looked like what he was—a great man. But the resplendent beauty of the two Viosminels eclipsed all the rest. They were brothers, and one of them a general in the army, who bore the title of Count, too. Newport never saw anything so handsome as these two young brothers.
“But we, the populace, were the only ones that looked at them, for the eye of every Frenchman was directed to Washington. Calm and unmoved by all the honors that surrounded him, the voice of adulation nor the din of battle had ever disturbed the equanimity of his deportment. Ever dignified, he wore on this day the same saint-like expression that always characterized him. They proceeded from the state-house to the lodgings of Count Rochambeau, the present residence of the heirs of the late Samuel Verner, corner of Clark and Mary streets. It was a proud day for Newport, to be honored with the presence of Washington, a name dear to every American heart."
“In the evening," says the writer in Harper, previously quoted, " the town was illuminated, and the officers, escorted by a large number of citizens, and preceded by thirty boys, bearing torches, marched through the streets. Upon returning to the house, Washington carefully thanked the boys for their services. It was his first interview with the French officers, and it is supposed that in the Vernon House, he sketched, with Rochambeau, the plan of an attack upon New York.
“ Associated with this visit of Washington, the name of one of the belles of those days has attained a greater immortality than even French courtesy had secured. This was the beautiful Miss Chaplin, à Newport maiden famed no less for her charm of manner than her lovely person. During Washington's visit the citizens of the town gave a ball in honor of the event to the Commander-in-chief und his French host, in the assembly room in Church-street. The general was summoned to open the ball, and he selected Miss Chaplin for his partner, and requested her to name the dance. She chose "A successful Campaign," a dance then in the highest favor. As Washington led out his partner upon the floor, the French officers, with the most graceful courtesy, took the instruments from the hands of the musicians, and played while the couple stepped through the minuet."
The Round Tower, or “Old Stone Mill," as it is usually called, stands in an open lot, adorned with walks and shade trees, on the sum
mit of the elevation on which Newport is built. This structure is about 25 feet high, with a diameter of 23 feet. It is circular in shape, and is supported upon eight arches resting on thick columns about 10 feet high, on foundation of four or five feet. The stones of which it is constructed are quite small, irregular
in form, and strongly cemented together by a mortar composed of shell, lime, sand, and gravel. The roof and fixtures, if it ever had any, were of perishable materials, for the interior is open to the sky. It is supposed by some that it was built by the Northmen, who visited the shores of this country about the year 1000 of the Christian era. Others infer it was erected by
Gov. Arnold, the first charter governor of the colony, as he makes mention of it in his will, calling it “my stone built Wind Mill.” The origin and purposes for which this structure was erected, have occasioned much speculation, and they are points which still remain undecided. Yet if it was standing at the first settlement of the place, it is an unaccountable fact that the earliest settlers should make no mention of it, although several of them kept diaries.
The Jewish cemetery, a small inclosure situated a short distance from the synagogue in Touro street, is quite an ornament to that part
of the city. It has a massive granite gateway, and a high iron fence, erected in 1843, by the order of the late Judah Touro, Esq., of New Orleans, at an expense of about $12,000. Mr. Touro was a native of Newport, and has generously remembered his native city by large donations to various objects of public utility. Within the inclosure are the graves of his parents and other members of his family. Mr. Touro died in 1854, and his remains were brought to Newport and interred by the side of his relatives. The annexed engraving is a representation of the monument erected to his memory, on which is the following inscription :
To the memory of JUDAH Touro, born Newport, R. I., June 16, 1775. Died, New Orleans, Jan. 18, 1854. Interred here June 6. The last of his name he inscribed
in the book of PHILANTHROPY, to be remembered forTOURO MONUMENT. The following inscription is from a monument in the same inclosure: In memory of the Rev. Isaac Touro, the able and faithful minister of the Congregation Yeshuat lsrael, in Newport, R. I., who departed this life on the 14th of Tebet, A. M. 5544, and December 8th, MDCCLXXXIII, at Kingston, Jamaica, where his remains lie buried. 8. 46 years. The memory of the just is blessed.
White Hall, a building about three miles from the state house, in Newport, now in the town of Middletown, is a place of interest to the antiquarian. It was built by the celebrated Dean Berkeley, for his residence on his farm of about 100 acres, which he purchased here. The dean arrived at Newport in Sept. 1729, and continued here about two years. His original destination was the Island of Bermuda, where, with his associates, he intended to found a college for the education of Indian youth of this country. The captain of the ship in which they sailed, unable to find Bermuda, steered northward, when he fell in with Block Island. Learning there that an Episcopal Church was in Newport, of which Mr. Honeymoon was the minister, he concluded to visit the place.
Berkeley was so charmed with Rhode Island, that he determined to make it his residence: in writing to his friends, he speaks of it as "pleasantly laid out in hills and vales, and rising grounds, and hath plenty of excellent springs and fine rivulets, and many delightful landscapes of rocks and promontories and adjacent lands." He was described “as a gentleman of middle stature, of an agreeable, pleasant, and erect aspect." “ His preaching was eloquent and forcible, and attracted large congregations to Trinity Church. When he was called to a sphere of greater usefulness in his native country, he was not forgetful of a residence which was endeared to him by many pleasing recollections; and which, moreover, possessed for him a melancholy interest, from the circumstance of its containing the ashes of his infant daughters, who died during his sojourn in Newport.”
White Hall In 1733, after his return to England, he sent a magnificent organ as a donation to Trinity Church. The White Hall estate, with a considerable portion of his library, he gave to Yale College in Connecticut. The White Hall estate, when it came into possession of the college, was sold on a lease of 990 years, at a rent of 100 ounces of silver per annum. During the dean's residence at White Hall, he wrote his “ Minute Philosopher," and his celebrated poem so oracular as to the future destinies of America; the last verse of which has become so famous:
“Westward the course of Empire takes its way,
The first four acts already past;
Time's noblest offspring is the last.” “ These were principally written at a place about half a mile south of his house. There he had his chair and writing apparatus placed in a natural alcove, which he found in the most elevated part of the Hanging Rocks, so called, roofed and opened only to the south, commanding at once a view of Sachuest Beach, the ocean and the circumjacent islands."
The following inscriptions are copied from monuments in the cemetery at the north part of the city: that of Commodore Perry, is on a granite shaft erected by the state, in an inclosure adjoining the principal graveyard. Three of his sons are interred by his side: (p. 1011.)
OLIVER HAZARD PERRY, at the age of 27 years, achieved the victory of Lake Erie, Sept. 10, 1813. Born in South Kingston, R. I., Aug. 23, 1785. Died at Port Spain, Trinidad, Aug. 23, 1819, aged 34 years. His remains were conveyed to his native land in a ship-ofwar, according to a resolution of Congress; and were here interred Dec. 4, 1826. Erected by the State of Rbode Island.
Dum curo vigilo. Here lieth the body of SAMUEL CRANSTON, Esq., late governor of this Colony, aged 68 years. Departed this life April ye 26th, A. D. 1727. He was the son of John Cranston, Esq., who was governor here 1680. He was descended from the Noble Scottish Lord Cranston, and carried in his veins a stream of the ancient Earls of Crawford, Both well, and Traquairs. Having for his Grandfather James Cranston Clerk, Chaplain to King Charles the First. His Great-Grandfather was John Cranston, of Poole, Esq. This last was son of John Cranston, Esq., which James was son to William, Lord Cranston.
Rest happy now, brave patriot, without end,
This monument is erected to the memory of the Hon. RICHARD WARD, Esq., late Governor of this Colony. He was early in life employed in the public service, and for several years sustained some of the most important offices in the Colony with great ability and reputation. He was a member of the Sabbatarian Church in this Town, and adorned the doctrines of his Savior, by a sincere and steady practice of the various duties of life. He died on the 21st day of Aug. 1763, in the 74th year of his age.
In memory of Doct. William Fletcher, who died March 9th, A. D. 1788. Ætat. 42. Ho was born in England, Cartmel Parish and County Palatine, of Lancaster. For three years before his death, he resided in this city, where he acquitted himself in the various duties of bis profession, with honor and integrity. He lived the life of a gentleman, and died like a Philosopher.
Here are deposited the remains of CHRISTOPHER CHAPLIN, Esq., President of the Bank of Rhode Island, and the First Grand Master of the Masonic Fraternity in this State, who died on the 25th day of April, 1805, in the 75th year of his age. Unambitious of public employments and honors, he was respected in Society for his good sense, and incorruptible iniegrity, and persevering industry in commercial pursuits, in which he was usefully engaged for balf a century. Distinguished by the practice of all the virtues that render valuable the nearest relations of life. He was most tenderly beloved by his family. In his last illness he manifested his firm belief in the Christian Religion, which he had always cherished, and be expired full of hopes grounded on its promises.
Here lies a Christian Minister, sacred to whose memory the Congregation, late his Pastoral Charge, erected this monument, a testimonial to Posterity, of their respect for the amiable character of the Rev'd. JAMES SEARING, who was born at Hempstead, on Long Island, Sept. XXIII, MDCCIX. Received a liberal education at Yale College; ordained to the pastoral charge of the church and Society meeting in Clarke street, Newport, April XXI, MDCCXXXI, where he served in the Christian Ministry XXIV years, and died Jan. VI, MDCCLV. Ætat. L. He entertained a rational veneration for the Most High, whom be constantly regarded as the Father of the Universe; the wise governor and benevolent Friend of the Creation. He was a steady Adrocate for the Redeemer and his Holy Religion. His contempt of Bigotry, his extensive Charity and Benevolence, and exemplary goodness of life, justly endeared him to his Flock, and gained him that general acceptance and Esteem which perpetuate his memory with deserved Reputation and Honor.
This monumental marble is erected to the memory of the Hon. Constant TABER, who departed this transitory life Dec. 20, 1826, aged 83 years. During a protracted life he sustained an unblemished character, and was justly esteemed by all his fellow-citizens, who frequently elected him to important offices, the duties of which he uniformly discharged with scrupulous fidelity ... When the Newport Bank was established in 1803, he was elected President, which office he'sustained till his death. He was a steady and devoted friend to the 2d Baptist Society in this town, to which he bequeathed the most of his valuable