« PreviousContinue »
the Richmond Academy, and the Medical College. Population is about 15,000.
Augusta was laid out by the trustees of Georgia, in 1735. It was named by Gen. Oglethorpe, in honor of one of the royal princesses. In 1736, a small garrison was placed here in a stockade fort, for the protection of the settlers: warehouses were built, and quite an extensive trade was opened with the Indians. Fort Augusta became a general resort for the Indian traders; and there, and at Fort Moore, on the bluff on Sand-bar ferry, all the Indian treaties were held down to the year 1750. In 1751, several Quaker families settled here and at a place called Quaker Springs.
When the British attacked Savannah, in March 1776, the legislature, a majority of whom were in favor of the American cause, adjourned to Augusta, where the people were generally friendly. On the capture of Savannah, in 177 when the legislature was broken up, the president of the executive council ordered an election of legislators, who were to assemble at Augusta. This town now became the center of the republican power in Georgia. Geo. Walton, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, was chosen governor in 1777, notwithstanding Sir James Wright had re-established roy. al government in the province. William Glascock was chosen speaker, and the legislature transacted business without reference to the existence of any other power in the state.
After the fall of Savannah, the British general, Prevost, ordered Col. Campbell, with 2,000 regulars and loyalists, to advance upon Augusta. Little opposition could be made to their progress, and Campbell took possession of Augusta, Jan. 29, 1779. The whigs who could leave with their families, crossed the Savannah into Carolina. The oath of allegiance to the British king was everywhere administered; the habitations of those who had fled into Carolina, were consumed; and Georgia seemed, for the time, to be entirely subdued.
The following inscriptions are copied from monuments in the Augusta cemetery:
JOHN MARTIN, a soldier of the Revolution, died in Augusta 14th February, 1843, aged 105 years. He served in the Cherokee war of 1755, was wounded in the head with a tomahawk. He served through the whole Revolutionary war with honor. A tribute of respect by the ladies of Augusta.
Here repose the mortal relios of Dr. EDWARD BRUX, whose life was broken off unfinished, in the midst of usefulness, on the 12th day of Oct. A. D., 1820, in the 31st year of bis age. He was born in St. Domingo, received the rudiments of his education in France : studied medicine at the University of Philadelphia, and served as a Surgeon in the army of the United States during the late war with Great Britain and America. Admired for his genius, respected for his acquirements, and esteemed for his virtues, he inspired confidence as á Physician, and won affection as a friend. The Medical College bear witness to his talents, and a whole city attests that he lived beloved, and died lamented.
JAMES D. MACKIE, M. D., born in this city April 13, 1818. Died of Yellow Fever, Nor. 16, 1854. Amicus Humani Generis. Erected by his friends and fellow-citizens, to express their regard to his memory, and to perpetuate the recollection of his professional devotion, humane conduct, and efficient services during the epidemio of 1854.
Macon city is situated on both sides of the Ocmulgee River, 32 miles from Milledgeville; 191 from Savannah; 165 from Augusta; 100 S. E. from Atlanta, and 300 from Charleston, S. C., with all of which places it is connected by railroads. Population is about 10,000. It is built principally on
the western side of the river. A great amount of cotton is shipped from this place by steam and other boats on the Ocmulgee, and by means of vari. ous railroads it has become the center of an active trade. The city is well built, and contains many superior residences. The Wesleyan Female College is located in this place, and enjoys a high reputation. This institution was opened to the public, Jan. 1839, under the title of the “Georgia Female College," and is the oldest institution of the kind in the United States-perhaps the oldest in the world. It is situated upon a high hill overlooking the city. The Southern Botanico-Medical, or Reform Medical College, is located in the city. It has received two separate endowments from the state, and now bids fair to be one of the most flourishing medical institutions at the south.
The view shows the appearance of Macon, as it is entered from East Macon, on the Central Railroad from Augusta. The railroad bridge over the Ocmulgee River, with the Conrt House, Jail, and Gas-works, are seen on the left; the City Bridge, the Messrs. Wood's Steam Factory, the spires of the Presbyterian and Episcopal churches on the right, and the Macon Female College in the distance on the extreme right.
Macon has had a very rapid growth since 1822, when there was but a single cabin on its site: it was named after the Hon. Nathaniel Macon. The first lots were sold in the place in 1823. Messrs. Ingersoll and Ross erected the first framed building. The vicinity of Macon still abounds with Indian mounds, which have always been objects of curiosity to travelers. The most noted is the large mound on the east side, about half a mile below the bridge.
The following is a western view of Fort Hawkins, upward of a mile eastward of the court-house in Macon, just out of the corporation limits of the city. The lower story or magazine is built of stone. There are two stories above this, each of which is pierced with thirteen port holes for musketry on each side. It is now the property of Mr. Woolfolk, an aged gentleman of wealth and respectability, whose residence is near by, and who has a number of log houses on his premises, which were formerly used as barracks. “Fort Hawkins was built for a protection against the Indians about the years 1805–6, and was a place of considerable importance during the war of 1812 and the subsequent Indian wars. No garrison has been stationed here since 1819, the
time of the first settlement of Newtown (now forming part of Macon), on the east bank of the Ocmulgee, three-quarters of a mile from the fort."
This fort was named after Col. Benjamin Hawkins, a revolutionary patriot, who was born in North Carolina in 1754. He was educated at Princeton, and becoming a personal friend of Washington, acted as an interpreter in his intercourse with the French officers of his army. He served North Carolina as representative in both houses of congress. In 1795 Washington appointed him agent for superintending all the Indians south of the Ohio, an office he held until his death, in 1816. “Although a man of wealth, he took up his residence among the Creeks, and devoted all his energies to their improvement. He established a large farm, built mills, houses, wagons, and made
implements of all sorts suited to the demands of the country. The celebrated French general Moreau, when an exile in America, paid a visit to Col. Hawkins at the agency. After leaving him he said he was the most remarkable man he had met in America. The Georgia Historical Society have published several volumes of his manuscripts.”
The following inscriptions are copied from monuments in Rose Hill cemetery, about half a mile above the city, on the banks of the Ocmulgee, which rise here abruptly to the hight of 140 feet above the bed of the river. The location is thickly wooded, and its uneven surface, tastefully laid out, presenting a scene of uncommon beauty:
Sacred to the memory of CHARLES BULLOCK, first senator in the state legislature from Bibb county, Ga.; died Sept. 10, 1829, aged 45 years.
OLIVER Hillhoose Pringe and Mary R. PRINGE, who perished in the wreck of the steamship Home, Oct. 9, 1837. “They were lovely and pleasant in their lives, and in their death they were not divided.” This tablet is erected to perpetuate the beloved memory of our parents by their bereaved and sorrowing children.
JAMES GODDARD, born at Athol, Mass., Jan. 22, 1800. Removed to Georgia in 1821 ; died at Greenfield, Mass., Oct. 19, 1846. Erected by the citizens of Macon as a testimonial of their appreciation of his public spirit and enterprise.
Here lie the remains of John HOWARD, a native of Onslow Co., North Carolina. Born on the 5th of March, 1792. He was for nineteen years a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, characterized by a burning zeal in the cause of his Divine Master. His ministrations were eminently successful in the salvation of his fellow men. As a minister, husband, father and citizen, he was exemplary, discharging his duties with fidelity, and adorning the character of the Christian profession. HE FELL in the prime of his days, and in the zenith of his usefulness, on the 22d of Aug., 1836, aged 44 yrs. and 6 mo. The God whom he served did not desert him in this last conflict, but enabled him to know that while the earthly tabernacle was dissolving that he was passing to a house not made with hands eternal in the heavens. This monument of one well known and sincerely beloved is reared by the affection of the church in this city, to whom he ministered in holy things for many years, and who witnessed his triumphant end. He died in the full assurance of a blissful immortality surrounded by a weeping family and mourning church.
MILLEDGEVILLE, the capitol of Georgia, is on the W. side of Oconee River at the head of navigation, 189 miles N. W. of Savannah, and 642 S. W. from Washington. The city is built on an uneven surface, and is laid out with streets 100 feet wide, crossing each other at right angles. The central square contains the state house, arsenal, and the four churches of the place. The state house is a gothic structure erected at an expense of about $120,000, and contains the portraits of Gen. Oglethorpe and other prominent men of ancient times.
The city is in the midst of a fine cotton growing region, and is connected by a railroad with the Central Railroad at Gordon, about 18 miles distant. The state penitentiary and state lunatic asylum are situated here. Population about 3,000. The town was named after Gov. John Milledge, and was made a city in 1836. The legislature first held its session here in 1807.
Western view of the State House and other buildings in Milledgeville. The view is from near the residence of R. M. Ormo, Esq.: the State House is seen on the right; the Milledgeville and McComb's Hotels on the left. The Presbyterian, Methodist, Baptist, and Episcopal churches appear in the central part.
Among the early settlers were Maj. John Howard, Herbert Reynolds, Gen. John Scott, Gen. Jett Thomas, Capt. Augustine Harris, Col. Abner Hammond, Maj. Thomas H. Kenan, Jesse Sanford, Lazarus Battle, Hines Holt, Geo. R. Clayton, Dr. T. Bird, Col. Z. Lamar, C. Malone, Wm. and Archy Devereaux, W. D. Jarrett, T. Napier, D. Fluker, A. Greene and R. White.
Oglethorpe University is situated on the line of the railroad, in some what of a retired and pleasant spot, about two miles south from Milledgcville. This institution is under the government of the Presbyterian Church, represented by the Synod of South Carolina and Georgia. The College commenced operations in Jan., 1838. The main college is of brick, two stories high besides the basement; the central part contains a finc chapel.
On each side of the campus there is a row of dormitories of one story, for the accommodation of the students.
Eastern view of Oglethorpe University, Midway. The following inscriptions are from monuments in the Milledgeville cemetery:
Beneath this Tablet reposes all that is mortal of HENRY Denison, who died in Milledgeville Oct. 31, A. D. 1819, aged 23 years and 4 mo. Son of the Hon. Gilbert Denison, and Huldah his wife, of Brattleboro, Vermont. Reader ! Art thou a Parent? think upon thine own offspring, and sympathise with them: Art thou a good Son? mingle thy tears with his Parents, for he was the best of sons: A Brother! Mourn, for he was the kindest of brothers; A Friend ? Sorrow, for he was the firmest of friends: Does the Muse inspire thee? Griere, for he was of thy kindred : Art thou manly and upright? Bemoan his early fate : for he was thy companion ; But if thou art a Christian, rejoice!!! for Henry "is not dead but sleepeth !”
Sacred to the memory of Lucius QC. LAMAR, Judge of the Superior Court of the Oemulgee Circuit, who during a brief service of five years discharged the duties of that high office with probity, firmness, assiduity and unquestionable reputation. The devoted love of his family, the ardent attachment of personal friends, the admiration of the bar, and the universal approbation of his enlightened administration of justice, attest the goodness and eminence of one arrested by death too early in the bright and useful career in which he had been placed by his native state. Born July 15, 1797, died July 4, 1834.
In memory of ROBERT R. WASHINGTON, who was born in England, 10th Dec., 1758, and died in this city 29th July, 1835, aged 76 years. For the last thirty years of his life he was a zealous and efficient member of the Methodist E. Church. His death is a calamity on the church, and the cause of philanthropy mourns, for the heart of benevolence is still. His family who record his virtues, although they bemoan their loss, are consoled by the assurance that he rests in peace. "Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord, they rest from their labors, and their works do follow them."
In memory of David Beydie MITCHELL, senator for the county of Baldwin and former governor of Georgia, born near Muthil, Perthshire, Scotland, 22 Oct., 1766, died in Milledgeville, Georgia, 220 April, 1837. This stone is erected by vote of the Legislature of Georgia.
In memory of MARGARET ALEXANDER, who was born in Mecklenberg, N. C., Aug. 13, 1771, and died in Milledgeville, Geo., July 20, 1848. She was a lineal descendant of the great Douglass of Scotland. Intellectual, cultivated, disinterested, affectionate, tender, good, she sleeps to wake again.