Wyndham Lewis: An Anthology of His Prose

Front Cover
E. W. F. Tomlin
Routledge, Nov 1, 2021 - Biography & Autobiography - 408 pages

Originally published in 1969, this project had Wyndham Lewis’ personal approval and is a comprehensive anthology of his prose writings, especially those which are difficult to access. There are extracts from some of Wyndham Lewis’ remarkable books such as Paleface, The Art of Being Ruled and Men Without Art. Lesser known works such as Filibusters in Barbary, The Diabolical Principle and The Dithyrambic Spectator, Blasting and Bombardiering, and Rude Assignment, are freely drawn upon and there is a section devoted to writings on the USA, a country which Lewis knew well.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


Paleface 1929
The Art of Being Ruled 1926
The Doom of Youth 1932
The Enemy of the Stars 19141932
The Caliphs Design 1919
Men Without Art 1934
The Diabolical Principle and The Dithyrambic Spectator 1931
Madness in Shakespearian Tragedy Preface 1929
Blasting and Bombardiering 1937
Rude Assignment 1950
Filibusters in Barbary 1932

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2021)

E. W. F. Tomlin was a British essayist and friend of Wyndham Lewis.