Page images
PDF
EPUB

Green, on a sheet of pot size, and continued, weekly on Tuesday, until 1767. Green then took as a partner Ebenezer Watson, and removed to New Haven. Watson managed the Courant for two years, under the firm name of Green & Watson, after which Watson became its proprietor. The paper was for a number of years printed with a much worn long primer type, occasionally intermixed with columns and half columns of old pica. About the year 1773, it was enlarged to a crown sheet; a coarse cut of the king's arms was inserted in the title, to which was added, “ Containing the freshest and most important Advices, both Foreign and Domestic.” The Courant was afterwards printed on a new type, when it made a more respectable appearance. The king's arms were discarded, and the arms of Connecticut took their place in the title, which was now altered to The Connecticut Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer : Containing, &c. Imprint : “Printed and published by Ebenezer Watson, near the Great-Bridge."

After the British troops gained possession of New York, and the newspapers on the side of the country in that place were discontinued, and the printers of them dispersed, the Courant became of much consequence; its circulation rapidly increased; and, for some time, the number of copies printed weekly was equal to, if not greater, than that of any other paper then printed on the continent.

Watson, the publisher, died in September, 1777, and the Courant was continued by his widow and George Goodwin, under the firm of Watson & Goodwin, until March, 1779. Barzillai Hudson married the widow of Watson, and

1 became the partner of Goodwin in March, 1779; and, from that time to the present (1810), the Courant has been pub

1 Mr. Hudson died July 31, 1823, aged 82 ; at which time he was the senior proprietor of the Couraut.- M.

lished by the well established firm of Hudson & Goodwin ;' the latter of whom has the management of the press." From the commencement of the war, in 1775, many respectable writers occasionally furnished this paper with political essays in favor of measures adopted by the country in the time of the great contest; and in defence of those since pursued by the federal administration.

NORWICH.

The Norwich Packet. And, the Connecticut, Massachusetts, New-Hamp

sbire, and Rbode Island Weekly Advertiser. The publication of the Packet began in October, 1773. It was handsomely printed with a new long primer type, on a sheet of crown paper, weekly, on Thursday. “Norwich Packet" was engraved in large German text, and the title was divided by a large cut of a ship under sail. Imprint,“Norwich: Printed by Alexander Robertson, James Robertson & John Trumbull, at the Printing-Office near the Court-House, at Six Shillings and Eight Pence per Annum. Advertisements, &c., are thankfully received for

1

Mr. Goodwin was yet hale and active when I knew him in Hartford, in 1829, and for more than twelve years afterwards, was still in the habit, although no longer a partner in the concern, of walking to the printing office daily, and setting up paragraphs in type, to gratify long established habit. He died May 14, 1844, aged 88. In 1842, an old gentleman called at the office of the Courant, who stated that he was in his 86th year, and that he had been a subscriber to the paper sixty-five years. — M.

'The Courant is still published at Hartford, by Hawley, Goodrich & Co.- A.

'Caulkins's History of Norwich, pp. 357–64, gives a fac-simile of the head of this paper, and an extended account of it and its publishers. See also The Norwich Jubilee, p. 292, for a historical sketch of printers and printing in that place.- M.

this Paper, and all Manner of Printing Work is performed with Care, Fidelity, and Expedition.

The Packet was continued by this company until June, 1776; Trumbull then became the sole publisher, and continued it with various alterations in the title, size, and appearance, until he died, in 1802. After his decease, it was printed for his widow, Lucy Trumbull, but under a new title, viz: The Connecticut Centinel. The Centinel in fact was a new paper, established on the foundation of the Packet.

NEW HAMPSHIRE.

No newspaper was printed in this colony until the year 1756.

PORTSMOUTH. A press having been established in Portsmouth by Daniel Fowle from Boston, he in August, 1756," began the publication of a public journal, entitled

[blocks in formation]

It was first printed from a long primer type, on half a sheet foolscap, in quarto; but was soon enlarged to half a sheet crown, folio; and it sometimes appeared on a whole sheet crown. Imprint, “Portsmouth, in New Hampshire,

* On the 6th of October, 1856, a centennial anniversary of the first newspaper in New Hampshire was held at Portsmouth, for which occasion a facsimile of the first number of the Gazette was printed. It appears by that, that the date was Thursday, October 7. It is possible that a prospectus number was issued in August, as was the case with the Newport Mercury. Although the anniversary of the establishment of the Gazette was celebrated with great spirit and eclat in 1856, the paper was discontinued in 1861, for about two years, when it was revived and published with eminent success. Abner Greenleaf, who had printed and edited the Gazette, died Sept. 28, 1868, aged 83. An almanac was also printed at this office in 1756 for the ensuing year.- M.

Printed by Daniel Fowle, where this Paper may be had at one Dollar per Annum; or Equivalent in Bills of Credit, computing a Dollar this year at Four Pounds Old Tenor.”

Fowle had several type metal cuts, which had been engraved and used for an abridgment of Croxall's Esop; and as he thought that there should be something ornamental in the title of the Gazette, and not finding an artist to engrave any thing appropriate, he introduced one of these cuts, designed for the fable of the crow and the fox. This cut was, in a short time, broken by some accident, and he supplied its place by one engraved for the fable of Jupiter and the peacock. This was used until worn down, when another cut from the fables was substituted. Eventually, the royal arms, badly engraved, appeared; and at the same time, “ Historical Chronicle” was added to the title; a cut of the king's arms well executed, afterwards took the place of the other.

In September, 1764, Robert Fowle became the partner of Daniel in the publication of the Gazette, and in 1774 they separated. In 1775, there was a little irregularity in the publication of the paper, occasioned by the war; but D. Fowle in a short time continued it as usual. The Gazette was not remarkable in its political features; but its general complexion was favorable to the cause of the country,

In May, 1776, Benjamin Dearborne, to whom Fowle taught printing, became the publisher of this paper, and altered its title to, The Freeman's Journal, or New Hampshire Gazette. Dearborne continued the paper a few years, after which it was again published by Fowle, who made several alterations in the title. In 1785, Fowle relinquished it to Melchor & Osborne, who published it for a number of years; and it is, at the present time (1810), issued from the press of their successors with its original title. The New-Hampshire Gazette is the oldest news

« PreviousContinue »