« PreviousContinue »
did for above an hour. The executioners fought for the rope, and the one who lost it cried. The mob tore off the black as relics ; 'but,' adds Walpole, “the universal crowd behaved with great decency and admiration, as they well might, for no exit was ever made with more sensible resolution and with less ostentation.'
After execution the body was conveyed to Surgeons' Hall to undergo the remainder of the sentence, and was there publicly exposed to view. There is a print of 'Earl Ferrers as he lay in his coffin at Surgeons' Hall.' On the evening of the 8th of May the body was delivered to the Earl's friends for interment. This, it is said, was in a grave fourteen feet under the tower of old St. Pancras' Church ; but upon the removal of the latter in 1848, we did not hear of the finding of the remains. The bill of expenses for the execution is said to have been found at Staunton, and among the articles enumerated is the silken rope. The landau in which the Earl rode to Tyburn was afterwards locked
in a coach-house at East Acton, and never again used. There it remained until it fell to pieces.
Neither within Westminster Hall nor without, on the days of trial, was there the least disturbance, though the hall was full, and the whole way from Charing Cross to the House of Lords was lined with crowds. The foreigners,' says Walpole, “were struck with the awfulness of the proceeding. It was new to their ideas to see such deliberate justice, and such dignity of nobility mixed with no respect for birth in the catastrophe, and still more humiliated by
anatomizing the criminal.' During the trial in the Hall, the cell to which the prisoner retired was on fire, which, by sawing away some timbers, was put out without
alarm to the Court.
A singular tradition is current in the Ferrers family. The park of Chartley, in Staffordshire, is a wild, romantic spot, and was formerly attached to the Royal Forest of Needwood and the Honour of Tutbury, of the whole of which the ancient family of Ferrers were the puissant lords. Their immense possessions, now forming part of the Duchy of Lancaster, were forfeited by the attainder of Earl Ferrers after his defeat at Burton Bridge, where he led the rebellious Barons against Henry II. The Chartley estate being settled in dower, was alone reserved, and has been handed down to its present possessor. In the park is preserved the indigenous Staffordshire cow, small in stature, of sandwhite colour, with black ears, muzzle, and tips at the hoofs. In the year of the battle of Burton Bridge a black calf was born ; and the downfall of the great house of Ferrers happening at the same period, gave rise to the tradition, which to this day has been current among the common people, that the birth of a parti-coloured calf from the wild breed in Chartley Park is a sure omen of death within the same year to a member of the lord's family; and by a noticeable coincidence, a calf of this description has been born when
1 The Countess of Ferrers, who, after his lordship's death, was married to Lord Frederick Campbell, brother to John fourth Duke of Argyll, was unfortunately burnt to death at her seat, Coomb Bank, Kent, in 1807.
ever a death has happened in the family of late years. The decease of the Earl and his Countess, of his son Lord Tamworth, of his daughter Mrs. William Joliffe, as well as the deaths of the son and heir of the eighth Earl and his daughter Lady Frances Shirley, were each preceded by the ominous birth of a calf. In the spring of 1855, an animal, perfectly black, was calved by one of this weird tribe in the park of Chartley, and it was soon followed by the death of the Countess. (Abridged from the Staffordshire Chronicle.) This curious tradition has been cleverly wrought into a romantic story, entitled Chartley, or the Fatalist.
HE noble family of Talbot, of which the Earl of
Shrewsbury is generally regarded as the head,
though his right was disputed by the Talbots of Malahide, and those of Bashall, in Yorkshire (now extinct in the male line), is of Norman extraction, and from the Conquest has held a foremost place in the annals of English history and of chivalry. The first upon record is Richard de Talbot, who is mentioned in Domesday Book as holding nine hides of land under Walter Gifford, Earl of Buckingham.' His son Hugh, having been governor of the King's Castle at Plessey, or Pleshey, in Essex, assumed the monastic cowl late in life, and died a monk in the Abbey of Beaubeck, in Normandy. His grandson Gilbert was warder of the Castle of Ludlow, and attended the coronation of Richard 1. in a distinguished capacity; and his grandson, another Gilbert, having been placed in command over the 'marches' of Herefordshire, married Gwendoline, daughter of the Prince or King of South Wales, whose arms his descendants have borne heraldically ever since. His grandson, a third Sir Gilbert, who had
been involved in the execution of Piers Gaveston, Earl of Cornwall, received the king's pardon, and was summoned to Parliament as a baron in 1331. His son and successor, Sir Richard Talbot, was summoned as a baron to Parliament in 1332--55; and being an eminent officer under Edward 111., was made by the king a knight-bannaret on the field of battle. He owned large estates on the borders of Wales; among others, Gooderich Castle on the Wye, where he resided in great state and splendour. It was this nobleman's grandson, John Talbot, whom Shakspeare terms “the great Alcides of the field,' who became the first Earl of Shrewsbury.
Gooderich Castle, though not of large dimensions, contained all the different works which constitute a complete ancient baronial castle. The general design forms a parallelogram, defended by a round tower at each of the angles, with an Anglo-Saxon keep. The entrance through a dark vaulted passage is the most striking feature. The chapel is graceful, and the hall stately, of the time of Edward 1. Another room of almost equal size leads to the Ladies' Tower. The ruin is mantled with ivy and clematis. A castle, which belonged to one Goodric, stood here before the Conquest; the structure underwent alteration down to the reign of Henry vi.
Born towards the close of the thirteenth century, and having married the heiress of the proud house of Furnival, John Talbot was summoned to Parliament in 1409 as * Johannes Talbot de Furnyvall.' In 1412 he was appointed