Self-Organization in Nonequilibrium Systems: From Dissipative Structures to Order Through Fluctuations

Front Cover
Wiley, May 13, 1977 - Science - 491 pages
0 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
Membranes, Dissipative Structures, and Evolution Edited by G. Nicolis & R. Lefever Focuses on the problem of the emergence/maintenance of biological order at successively higher levels of complexity. Covers the spatiotemporal organization of simple biochemical networks; the formation of pluricellular or macromolecular assemblies; the evolution of these structures; and the functions of specific biological structures. Volume 29 in Advances in Chemical Physics Series, I. Prigogine & Stuart A. Rice, Editors. 1975 Theory and Applications of Molecular Paramagnetism Edited by E. A. Boudreaux & L. N. Mulay Comprehensively treats the basic theory of paramagnetic phenomena from both the classical and mechanical vantages. It examines the magnetic behavior of Lanthanide and Actinide elements as well as traditional transition metals. For each class of compounds, appropriate details of descriptive and mathematical theory are given before their applications. 1976 Theory and Aapplications of Molecular Diamagnetism Edited by L. N. Mulay & E. A. Boudreaux An invaluable reference for solving chemical problems in magnetics, magnetochemistry, and related areas where magnetic data are important, such as solid-state physics and optical spectroscopy. 1976

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


General Introduction
Mathematical Tools

6 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1977)

About the Authors GREGOIRE NICOLIS received his Ph.D. in Non Equilibrium Statistical Mechanisms in 1965 at Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium. A recipient of the De Donder Prize of the Belgian Academy of Science, Dr. Nicolis is an Associate Foreign Member of the Academy, and the co-editor, with R. Lefever, of Membranes, Dissipative Structures, and Evolution (Wiley-Interscience, Vol. 29 in Advances in Chemical Physics Series, 1975). He has served at the University of Texas, Austin, and the University of Oregon, Eugene, as Visiting Professor, and is currently Professeur Associé at Université Libre de Bruxelles. ILYA PRIGOGINE is one of the founders of the modern theory of irreversible processes. His work includes both thermodynamics and statistical physics. He is a member of several national academies and learned societies, and is former President of the Belgian Royal Academy and an Associate Foreign Member of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States. Dr. Prigogine holds numerous honorary degrees and has received many distinctions such as the Arrhenius Gold Medal of the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences (1968) and the Rumford Medal of the Royal Society (1976).

Bibliographic information