« PreviousContinue »
the Schuylkill. This remained in use for sick immigrants until 1800, when the Lazaretto, on Little Tinicum Island, in Delaware County, was built. The calamitous necessity, in 1793, so alarmed the inhabitants, that it was then considered absolutely necessary to establish some measures to insure the public safety of this city. The Guardians of the Poor had already refused to receive smallpox or fever patients into the Almshouse, then located on Spruce Street, between Tenth and Eleventh. The Pennsylvania Hospital was closed at that time. The Guardians of the Poor took the old circus, on Chestnut and Sixth Streets, but the residents of the vicinity threatened to burn the place down unless the sick were removed. Application was then made to the magistracy of the city, and finally a place was selected on Bush Hill.
“ The Board of Health was organized in 1794, and purchased the Fish Tavern on the west side of the bridge, now occupied by the Pennsylvania Railroad Company. This was used for a time for hospital purposes. The first hospital established by the city was in 1796 or '97. This was the Wigwam Hotel, at the foot of Race Street, on the Schuylkill. It was then a somewhat celebrated tavern, to which gentlemen resorted to eat perch, as they now do at the Falls, where catfish and coffee are popular. This Hospital retained the name of the Wigwam Hotel for several years; the sign that used to swing there is in Germantown, but, being defaced by the ravages of time, has been painted over. In 1805 the citizens in the vicinity of the Wigwam Hospital entered complaints against the institution. It was finally removed to other ground, on the Wissahickon Road, near where Ridge Road and Wallace Street now intersect each other. This place was occupied for two seasons only, when the citizens again rebelled, and demanded its removal. For a time the city was again without a hospital. The people settled down in the opinion that if the epidemic should again visit the city, buildings should be put up at respectful distances, to meet the emergency.
In the year 1810 a hospital for infectious diseases was erected on Bush Hill, where it remained until 1855, when it was removed. Since that time Philadelphia has been without a City Hospital. This was a subject much to be regretted. The Board of Health opened the Lazaretto Hospital, and patients had to be removed twelve miles from the city; and no one can form any idea of the amount of suffering the poor creatures had to undergo. Now we have a hospital, with all the conveniences needed for the present era.”
The Hospital is, of course, maintained by appropriations made by the City Councils. It is under the management of a physician-in-charge, appointed by the Board of Health. The diseases treated are smallpox, yellow fever, typhus fever, scarlet fever, cholera, epidemic cerebro-spinal meningitis, relapsing fever, and, occasionally, measles.
Upon receiving the certificate of a physician that a patient has one of the above enumerated diseases, and that his circumstances are not such as to admit of his being properly cared for at home, the Chief Clerk, or any member of the Board, issues an order of admission ; whereupon the Hospital ambulance is sent to remove the patient. If he is able to pay, one dollar per day will be charged ; if he is poor, no charge will be made.
There is no compulsion in regard to entrance into the Hospital, except under extreme circumstances.
The ordinary capacity of the Hospital is one hundred and ninety beds, independent of the room occupied by nurses and attendants, while the largest number of patients under treatment at one time, during the late epidemic of smallpox, was three hundred and twelvebeing one hundred and twenty-two more than the ordinary capacity of the building. In order to meet this extraordinary demand, rooms were improvised by inclosing two of the large corridors, each of which will accommodate from twenty-five to thirty convalescents; and, in addition to this, a number of army hospital-tents were pitched, which with board floors and coal stoves were comfortable, even in the coldest weather.
Physician-in-charge: Dr. William M. Welch.
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia.
Founded in 1855. This institution is supported by subscriptions, donations, legacies, and board of patients.
Children, under twelve years of age, and over two years, suffering from non-contagious disease, or from injury, are admitted on application to the Attending Physicians, who visit the Hospital daily at 12 o'clock (Sundays excepted). The Hospital building will accommodate 53 patients.
Board of Managers.
G. A. Wood.
F. MORTIMER LEWIS.
T. Hewson BACHE, M.D.
FRANCIS W. LEWIS, M.D.
F. Mortimer Lewis,
Francis W. Lewis, M.D.,
T. H. Bache, M.D.,
Oficers Elected by the Managers. Attending Physicians : Drs. Hilborne West, Jas. H. Hutchinson, D. Murray Cheston, William Pepper.
Attending Surgeons: Drs. H. Lenox Hodge, John Ashhurst, Jr., George C. Harlan.
Consulting Physicians : Drs. J. Forsyth Meigs, J. M. Da Costa. Consulting Surgeon: Dr. Geo. W. Norris.
Dispensary Physicians : Drs. George A. Rex, Horace Williams, Comegys Paul, W. F. Jenks, A. V. Meigs, G. S. Gerhard.
Resident Physician: Dr. Chas. H. Mann.
Ladies' Visiting Committee.
Mrs. C. K. Biddle,
J. Edgar Thomson,
G. A. Wood,
Mrs. George Plitt,
Fred’k Brown, Jr.,
Jas. H. Hutchinson,
G. W. Childs.
The German Hospital of the City of Philadelphia.
S. W. CORNER OF GIRARD AND CORINTHIAN AVENUES. Incorporated April, 1860. Opened for the reception of Patients
November, 1866. The members of this corporation are such persons as may be elected by ballot, pay five dollars admission, and three dollars annually ; fifty dollars paid in one sum constitutes a life-member; one thousand dollars constitutes a life-member, with a right to have constantly one patient in the wards. Corporators who are “ citizens above the age of twenty-one years'' are eligible as managers, but must speak the German language.
Any association or corporation, paying in one hundred dollars or more in one sum, may acquire one vote at the annual election. Every charitable, beneficial, or other corporation or association, contributing with the assent of the Board of Managers the sum of fifteen hundred dollars, is entitled to have one of its sick members constantly in the wards on its recommendation, and on payment of the further sum of one hundred and fifty dollars annually, such association or corporation has the privilege of the admission of another patient.
On the last Wednesday in December of each year, the corporators elect eight Managers, to serve a three years' term. By the twenty-four Managers thus appointed, the medical officers are chosen; they must “speak the German language with facility."
Patients are admitted without exclusion of nationality, creed, or color. The Hospital has now, with the new extension, accommodations for one hundred and thirty sick persons.
Patients, to be admitted into the Hospital (except in cases of recent accident), must be residents of the city of Philadelphia, or immigrants who have not acquired a permanent residence; if poor, they are treated gratuitously.
For pay patients the charge is four to six dollars a week, or more in special cases, as decided by agreement between the applicant and the steward, with the