« PreviousContinue »
prove the health and protect the lives of the community." (Constitution, Art. II.) Its expenses are paid by assessments on the County Societies, proportionate to the number of delegates sent by each. It meets annually. The time and place of meeting are designated at the previous session.
The next session will be held at Pottsville, the second Wednesday of May, 1875, at 3 P. M.
The State is divided into thirteen Censorial Districts, the first of which comprises the counties of Philadelphia, Delaware, and Chester.
The second, Bucks, Northampton, Lehigh, Carbon, Monroe, and Pike.
The third, Montgomery, Berks, and Schuylkill.
The fourth, Lancaster, Lebanon, Dauphin, Perry, and Snyder.
The fifth, Cumberland, York, Adams, Franklin, and Fulton.
The sixth, Juniata, Mifflin, Huntingdon, Blair, Cambria, Bedford, and Somerset.
The seventh, Fayette, Westmoreland, Indiana, and Armstrong.
The eighth, Alleghany, Washington, and Greene. The ninth, Butler, Beaver, Lawrence, Mercer, Venango, and Clarion.
The tenth, Erie, Crawford, Warren, Jefferson, Forest, Elk, McKean, Potter, and Cameron.
The eleventh, Clearfield, Centre, Clinton, Tioga, Lycoming, Northumberland, and Union.
The twelfth, Montour, Columbia, Luzerne, and Sullivan.
The thirteenth, Bradford, Wyoming, Susquehanna, and Wayne.
Each County Society is entitled to one member of the Board of Censors of the district.
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia,
HALL NORTHEAST CORNER OF THIRTEENTH AND LOCUST STS.,
Was incorporated in 1789, and consists of Fellows and Associates. The former must be practitioners of medicine in good standing, residents of the city of Philadelphia, and over twenty-four years of age. The latter must be distinguished practitioners of medicine residing beyond the limits of the city; they must not exceed fifty in number, and twenty of them may be foreigners. "The objects of this College are to advance the science of medicine, and thereby to lessen human misery, by investigating the diseases and remedies which are peculiar to this country; by observing the effects of different seasons, climates, and situations upon the human body;
by recording the changes which are produced in disease by the progress of agriculture, arts, population, and manners; by searching for medicines in the American woods, waters, and in the bowels of the earth; by enlarging the avenues to knowledge from the discoveries and publications of foreign countries; and by cultivating order and uniformity in the practice of physic." (Charter, § 2.)
The initiation-fee to the Fellows is twenty-five dollars; the semi-annual contribution five dollars, payable in January and July.
A stated meeting of the College is held on the first Wednesday evening of each month. The Library is open for the use of the Fellows daily (Sundays and legal holidays excepted) from 11 A. M. to 3 P. M. It consists of nearly 18,000 volumes, comprising full sets of many American and foreign periodicals. Over 4500 of these volumes have been given to the College by Dr. Samuel Lewis, and 2000 were bequeathed to it by the late George Ord, Esq.
The proceedings of the College have hitherto been published in the American Journal of the Medical Sciences.
By an agreement with the late Dr. T. D. Mütter, the College erected a fire-proof building, their present Hall, which was completed in 1863. They came into possession, in that year, of Dr. Mütter's pathological museum and a large portion of his library, and engaged to appoint in March, 1864, and every third year thereafter, a lecturer, who must deliver three annual courses of at
least ten lectures each, on some point or points connected with surgical pathology.
The Journal Association of the College subscribes to all the best journals in the United States and abroad, which are not regularly received by the College. These are placed on the tables in the Library, for the use of the Fellows; the volumes, as they are completed, becoming the property of the College. Dr. T. H. Bache is the Secretary and Treasurer of the Association.
The following is a list of the present officers and standing committees elected by the College :
Censors. Drs. ISAAC HAYS, JOSEPH CARSON, LEWIS RODMAN, and EDWARD HARTSHORNE.
Councillors. To serve until Jan. 1875, Drs. W. S. W. RUSCHENBERGER and JAMES H. HUTCHINSON; to serve until Jan. 1876, Drs. CASPAR MORRIS and S. LITTELL; to serve until Jan. 1877, Drs. ALFRED STILLE and ELLERSLIE WALLACE.
Committee of Publication.-Drs. J. M. DA COSTA, JOHN ASHHurst, Jr., J. H. HUTCHINSON, and the Recorder, ex officio.
Library Committee.-Drs. ALFRED STILLE, ROBERT BRIDGES, WALTER F. ATLEE, JOHN ASHHURST, Jr., and I. MINIS HAYS.
Committee on the Mütter Museum.- Drs. J. RODMAN PAUL, WILLIAM HUNT, and S. WEIR MITCHELL.
Hall Committee.-Drs. GEORGE W. NORRIS, EDWARD HARTSHORNE, LEWIS RODMAN, CASPAR MORRIS, and T. H. BACHE.
Committee on Lectures.-Drs. SAMUEL D. GROSS, GEORGE B. WOOD, GEORGE W. NORRIS, JOSEPH LEIDY, and WILLIAM GOODELL.