« PreviousContinue »
Mary Lindsay Crawford, unmarried, 1833, Earl George succeeded to her inheritance in the lands of Crawford Priory, Fifeshire, as well as to others in Kilbirnie parish, Ayrshire. The first mentioned is entered in the Parliamentary Return already referred to as consisting of 5625 acres, with a gross annual value (exclusive of £60 1os. for minerals) of £9024. An addition to the family property was also made about this time by the acquisition of the Garrison lands, Isle of Cumbrae, in addition to others already in possession of the family. The "Garrison" is so named from the original residence slightly fortified, built there in the middle of last century by Andrew Crawford, commander of the first revenue cutter placed on that station. George, fourth Earl, who died 6th July, 1843, married twice-(1) 4th March, 1788, Augusta, daughter of James, fourteenth Earl of Errol, and had issue, John, Viscount Kelburne, a naval officer, born 1789, died 1818; James, fifth Earl; William, born 1802, died 1819; Isabella, Elizabeth, and Augusta, the latter married to Lord Frederick Fitzclarence. Earl George married (2) November 1824, Julia, daughter by a second marriage of the learned and patriotic statesman, Sir John Sinclair, Bart. of Ulbster; Earl George died 6th July, 1843, and the Countess Julia 19th February, 1868, leaving George Frederick, present Earl, and Diana, who in July, 1849, married the Hon. John Slaney Pakington, second Lord Hampton, eldest son of Sir John Pakington, first Lord Hampton, an esteemed servant of the Crown, 1852-68. The Hon. Lady Diana Pakington died ist January, 1877.
James, fifth Earl of Glasgow, born roth April, 1792; entered the navy, 1807; became lieutenant, 1814; and subsequently captain. As Lord Kelburne he in 1837 contested Ayr county unsuccessfully against Sir John Dunlop of Dunlop, but on the death of the latter in 1839, Lord Kelburne again came forward against Mr. Campbell of Craigie, whom he defeated by a large majority, and held the seat till called to the House of Lords on the death of his father in 1843. His Lordship was master of the Renfrewshire hounds, and an ardent, honourable, although never a very lucky, patron of the turf. Earl James died 10th March, 1869, when, there being no issue by his marriage with Miss Mackenzie, daughter of Edward Hay of New Hall, Cromarty, the succession devolved upon his half-brother, the sixth or present Earl of Glasgow.
George Frederick Boyle, born 9th October, 1825; educated at Christ Church, Oxford, taking his B.A. degree 1847, and M.A. 1850—represented Buteshire in Parliament for a few months during 1865, having defeated his opponent, J. Lamont of Knockdhu, on the elevation of David Mure to the bench, but was in turn defeated in the second contest which took place on occasion of the general election in autumn of the same year. Before this date, or in 1843, Mr. Boyle had not only erected the beautiful little church of St. Andrew's within the Garrison policies, Cumbrae, but built at his own charge from designs by Butterfield, and on a commanding site within the bounds of the same family property, the extensive, costly, and ornate Cathedral Collegiate Church of the Isles, intended for the threefold purpose of giving assistance to the clergy of the diocese, to afford a retreat for a limited number of aged or infirm clergymen, and to prepare a few students for the service of the Church, more especially in Gaelic districts. The College, governed by a Provost, with the Bishop of Argyll as visitor, was taken possession of by students and choristers in November, 1850, the church being opened for service the following year, and consecrated 1876. Succeeding to the family honours on the death of Earl James in 1869, Lord Glasgow had restored to him on the death of Sir W. Gibson-Craig (1878) the high honour held by an ancestor of Lord-Clerk Register of Scotland, and keeper of the Signet. His Lordship is also convener of the county of Bute (succeeding the late A. B. Stewart, Esq. of Ascog, 1880), and Chief Magistrate of the Burgh of Millport-duties which he discharges with unwearied attention and courtesy, the latter none the less from the circumstance that the Garrison residence on the Island was long occupied and much improved by his mother, the Dowager-Countess, and himself. The Earl George Frederick, married 29th April, 1856, the Hon. Miss Montagu Abercromby, only daughter of George Ralph, third Lord Abercromby, and has issue Gertrude Julia Georgiana, born 15th November, 1861, who married Hon. Thomas H. A. E. Cochrane, with issue a son and daughter; and Muriel Louisa Diana, born 18th November, 1873.
DUNDONALD AND ITS EARLS.
Unlike the square divisions or plots into which land is parcelled out in new and thinly-peopled countries, parishes in Scotland-nor is England much different --have been made to assume every variety of odd fantastic shape. In some cases, indeed, they are made up of portions of land quite detached from each other, and not unfrequently in different counties. An explanation of this apparent irregularity both as to shape and size, must be sought for, at least partly, in the conditions under which the land came to be laid out in distinct portions, parishes, or town. ships. There is first, if any reliance is to be placed on the most recent researches into early land tenures, the village commune, where the inhabitants not only held the soil in common, but frequently stocked and cultivated it in common. Then, when we come down with clearer vision to a point almost touching authentic history, there is possession of the soil by the Crown alone, often gifted with wonderful munificence to relations and followers; but the origin of the possession, not even yet understood with certainty. After this the inquirer gets a more stable footing within the period of documents, or at the very least of assured tradition. Next comes the feudal period, when the baron held land, doing suit and service for the same to the sovereign, and dividing it again among his own retainers on nearly the same condition of mustering under his banner in the field. Running parallel with this feudal tenure, but having interests of its own of a more beneficent character, there was the parish as a diocese or district assigned to a particular Church, and where, in process of time, the teinds in its support could only be collected within strictly defined limits. After this, and as presently existing, the parish boundaries came to be affected by the necessities for local self-government, and the administration of the law relating to parochial relief. All these conditions have helped to make parishes what they are in shape and size. Dundonald, with which we are more immediately concerned, presents an outline so irregular as to make the “beating of its bounds," were such a ceremony necessary, an undertaking requiring the nicest observation and thorough parochial experience. Its broadest, or northern part, extending from Riccarton to Fullarton, a distance of some seven miles, marked wholly by the course of the Irvine, is touched by no fewer than four parishes—Irvine, Dreghorn, Kilmaurs, and Riccarton, Kilmarnock almost edging in within the last two. Along its eastern side there is Symington and Monkton, but on the west, bending for the most part smoothly inland, there is nothing but the sea or Firth of Clyde for another seven miles from Fullarton to Monkton, which Dundonald overlaps for a short distance on the south. The only break on the westward line may be said to be Troon Point, which with the port lies within Dundonald parish.
Crowning the summit of a pleasant hill west of Dundonald village, the now ruined Castle, so closely identified with the history of the parish, and dating as it does from the thirteenth, or probably the twelfth century, may be said to correspond in time with the arrival of the first Norman Stewarts in Scotland, and was certainly occupied by them long before any succession to the throne had opened up to that high official in the Royal household which gave name to the family. Here, till he was long past middle age, lived Robert II., first of the Royal race, raised to the throne under an Act of Settlement as son of Walter the Stewart and Marjory Bruce, daughter of the great King Robert and half-sister of Bruce's son, David II., who died in February 1371. At Dundonald Robert II. married, under a Papal dispensation, that Elizabeth Mure of Rowallen who had become attached to the Stewart while he was living at the old castle in retirement during the brief usurpation of Edward Baliol. Here, too, full of years, the first sovereign of the Stuart race died in peace, 1390, having withdrawn from Dunfermline when the power of the Crown was practically wielded by a son, Earl of Fife, in name of the heir, an elder brother, John, known better in history under the more popular title of Robert III. A loose tradition has been handed down that a still earlier castle, on the site, was built of wood by a certain Donald Din or Dun Donald, who acquired great fame in this part of Kyle through discovering a pot of gold as revealed in a dream, like so many similar stories of sudden riches current in lands far beyond Ayrshire. The present castle, greatly dismantled by the Cochranes to build their new house of Auchans adjoining, still presents, even in ruin, many traces of its ancient grandeur. It is two stories in height, and measures 130 feet by 40 feet. On its western wall traces may still be found of the Stewart armorial bearings, as also of a “keep” or prison, and a wide protecting moat. The fabric, with a few roods of land adjoining, is the last remnant of Ayrshire property possessed by the Cochrane Earls of Dundonald, famous in Renfrewshire before being ennobled as lairds of the Barony of Cochrane, an estate on the west side of Paisley Abbey Parish, now mostly included within the lands owned by G. L. Houstoun, Esq. of Johnstone.
In addition to Cochrane, the Sir William of the day (1640) possessed the Ayrshire lands of Dundonald and Auchans, and, in consideration of his loyalty and munificence to the Crown during the civil war, was in 1647 created a Peer as Lord Cochrane of Dundonald. The higher title of Earl of Dundonald, with that of Baron of Paisley and Ochiltree, was conferred in 1669 by Charles II. A few
A few years before this date Earl William had, for 160,000 pounds Scots, acquired the rich lordship of Paisley from the Earl of Angus, trustee for James, second Earl of Abercorn, who in 1621, fell heir as grandson of the Commendator, Claud Hamilton, "grey Paisley's haughty Lord.” Earl William resided at the Place of Paisley, and from memorial stones still to be seen there, would appear, in or about 1675, to have made important additions to the original fabric. In 1658 he disposed of the superiorities of the burgh to the Bailies and community, and gave them power at the same time to elect their own magistrates, up to that date nominated by himself, in terms of clauses contained in the charter of 1488 granted to Abbot Shaw, by which Paisley was erected into a free burgh of barony. A charter was obtained for the burgh from Charles II. in 1665. The Earl died in Paisley, 1686, and was buried at Dundonald, leaving, by his wife Euphame, daughter of Scott of Ardross, Fifeshire, one son, known early in life as Sir John Cochrane of Ochiltree, much mixed up with the Presbyterian plots of his day, and uncle of John, second Earl, whose father William had predeceased the first Earl. The daughter, Lady Grizel Cochrane,