« PreviousContinue »
its findspot and no certain information could be obtained. removed to the Indian Museum at the request of Mr. J. F. Blakiston, then Assistant Superintendent, Archæological Survey, Eastern Circle. The upper portion of this record has been damaged, the first line and the upper part of the second having broken away. The inscribed surface measures 1'43" by 1'1". The name of Sultan 'Ala-ud-din Husain Shah and the date, A.H. 916=1510 A.D., has been preserved.
المعظم المكرم علاؤ الدنيا والدین ابو المظفر حسین شاه السلطان ابن سيد اشرف الحسيني خلداله ملكه سلطانه في سنه ست عشر و تسعماية و
X.-Inscribed Pillar of the time of 'Ala-ud-din Husain Shah. This inscription, which is incised on the back of a pillar, sawn lengthways, was also found in the inscription gallery of the Indian Museum, where there is no record about its findspot. It appears that two granite pillars were sawn lengthways in order to form the tablet of the inscription. Only one of these, i. e. one quarter of the inscription has been recovered. The object of the inscription was to record the erection of a gateway (Bāb) by a noble, a portion of whose titles were Majiisul-Maiālis Majlis Mansur, who was probably the same person as the builder of the Choță Sona Masjid at Gaur. The Choță Sona Masjid was built by Majlis-ul-majālis Mansur Ābū Muhammad son of Abu 'Ali in the month of Rajab of some unknown year, during the reign of 'Ala-ud-din Husain Shah. The present inscription was incised on the 27th day of the month of Ramzan of some unknown year.
( 1 ) الملم والمسلمين (علاء) والدنيا والد (ين) ( ابو المظفر حسین ( شاه الله ) لطا ( ن ابن سید اشرف ( الحسيني ) خلداله ) ملکه و ( ) لمطانه باب .... المسجد خالصا مخلصا مج ( اس المجال ) سس مجلس منصور نصره الله تعالي في الدنيا والآخرة
و تاريخيه الميمون في السابع والعشرين من شهر رمضان الذلي انزل (فيه الق) أن
XI.-Inscription on four bricks from Gaur.
This inscription is perhaps the only dated Muhammadan inscription on brick which bears the name of a sovereign of Bengal. Cunningham thought that the bricks would exactly fit in an empty panel over the door of Shaikh Ākhi Sirāj-ud-din's tomb at Gaur. There is no record in the Indian Museum about the provenance of these bricks. Cunningham read the king's name 'Azam, but the facsimile will show that his name is Ghiyāth-ud-din Mahmud Shah and that his father's name was Husain Shāh. Only one corner of the last brick is now to be seen in the Indian Museum, the rest bearing the words shahar and tisāmayat 2 have disappeared. Dr. Horowitz in his list of the published Muhammadan inscriptions of India 1efers this record to the reign of Ghiyäth-ud-din 'Āzam Shāh, following Cunningham's version of the text. 8 The purport of this mutilated inscription was to record the erection of some building during the reign of Sultan Ghiya-ud-din Mahmūd Shah, son of 'Ala-ud-din Husain Shah by a noble who was the Wazir of the town of Muhammadabad. This town is a well-known mint-town of the Sultans of Bengal, but has not been satisfactorily identified as yet.
قال النبي صلي الله على ( يه ( رس (لم من بنى مسجد الله ) في ( الدنيا بني الله له قصرا في المجنة مثله في عهد ( السلطان ( غيا ( ٥ ) الدنيا و الدين ابو المظفر محمود شاه سلطان بن حسین شاه السلطان خلا (د ( الا ) يه ) ملكه وسلطانه
ملک مہمات بندہ کہیں وزیر شہر محمد آباد في التا ( ريخ
XII.-Inscription from the Dargāḥ of Shāh Juman Madārī
This inscription, one of the very few known records discovered in Bihar of the time of the Emperor Farid-ud-din
14. S. R., Volume XV, page 72.
Ibid, Part XX.
Epigraphia Indo-Moslemica, 1909-10, page 65, No. 379.